Want to pick up guitar and play whatever

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by emerica1184, Apr 12, 2016.

1. emerica1184

emerica1184 TDPRI Member

Hey guys, I've been playing guitar for about 11 years now. My single biggest weakness is I can't just pick up the guitar and start playing. I always default to a song I already know, or a basic chord progression. I understand a decent amount of theory but as far as picking up a guitar and just beginning to play what I hear in my head, i'm useless. My buddy, who has been playing a similar amount of time, can just pick up his guitar and play any genre he thinks of on the spot, and he has zero understanding of theory. So what are some things I can work on in order to get to that level?

2. screamin eagle

screamin eagle Poster Extraordinaire

Focus on learning song melodies. Songs outside your comfort zone. Songs inside of and outside of styles you like.

Spend enough time with this and you'll start to hear similarities and common patterns, as well as specific artists' tendencies. Paul Pigat told me that he spends much more time learning song melodies rather than solos as the melodies almost always contain the artists best ideas, or at least the artist spent much more time developing those ideas.

Once you've done this long enough, you'll be piecing things together like you never have before and will find yourself pickup up the guitar and playing new things.

When I hear of someone who can pickup an instrument and play without any theory understanding, my first thought is they have a strong sense of melody, whether naturally or learned.

3. Tonetele

Tonetele Poster Extraordinaire

screaming eagle is right. The solo to "Reelin' in the Years "is actually the melody with lots of great embellishment.
    It helps to learn scales also for your own solos.JMHO

4. klasaine

klasaine Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter