1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Vox ac15c1 U.S. to U.K. transformer change.

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by Martext, Oct 14, 2017.

  1. Martext

    Martext TDPRI Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Location:
    England
    Hi, first post here, so Hi!

    Right, I have a new Vox AC15c1 from America. The reason it's from America and I'm in England is it was a prize, so I didn't set out to buy one and then have a voltage issue. Haha

    At the moment I'm running it through an external mains transformer. But long term I'd like to change the internal transformer.... Is this possible? Is it as "simple" as that? I know the dangers of working with valve amps so I don't mean simple in that way. I mean simple as in swapping out the transformer.

    Thanks
     
  2. radiocaster

    radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,383
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    You need the schematic, it might be just a matter of swapping two leads inside.
     
    teleamp and danlad like this.
  3. VintageSG

    VintageSG Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    4,490
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Location:
    Yorkshire
  4. gourmetsaint

    gourmetsaint Tele-Meister

    Age:
    62
    Posts:
    134
    Joined:
    May 17, 2017
    Location:
    Australia
    Considering Vox is a UK brand and company, I would imagine a simple PT change. Ask Vox? If you tell them it was a prize, they might even sort something out cheap/free if it's under Vox warranty.
    Check out:
    http://www.voxshowroom.com/uk/amp/ac15c1_hood.html

    PT part numbers are listed.
     
  5. Martext

    Martext TDPRI Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Location:
    England
    Schematic of the amp or transformer? Or both?
    Thanks
     
  6. Martext

    Martext TDPRI Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Location:
    England
    Yeah, I have contacted their service dept but the guy I spoke to didn't seem much help.
    I have seen that link whilst searching, it would seem that the PT is the only difference which is kinda what I'm think/hoping.
     
  7. radiocaster

    radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,383
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    Well, the amp schematics would show if they use the same transformer for all versions and you can just swap the leads, or if you have to get another one.
     
  8. Martext

    Martext TDPRI Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Location:
    England
  9. Martext

    Martext TDPRI Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Location:
    England
  10. radiocaster

    radiocaster Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,383
    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2015
    Location:
    europe
    I think most people here are aware that it's possible to do a search of the internet, but besides that you have to sift through all the other versions of the AC15 more likely to come up.

    This schematic seems to be on our own forum:
    http://www.tdpri.com/threads/vox-ac15c1-no-sound.570181/

    But that's not a good one, it's one someone has drawn, you need an official one from a service manual, or at least read what the sticker on top of the transformer says, might give you some clues as to how to proceed.
     
  11. Martext

    Martext TDPRI Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Location:
    England
    Yeah, sorry, didn't mean to just send the link. Was disturbed mid post.
    Thanks for your help.
     
  12. Martext

    Martext TDPRI Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Location:
    England
    And I'll try to get a picture of the actual transformer in my amp.
     
  13. Dacious

    Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,575
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Godzone
    It should just be a matter of buying a UK transformer and possibly even plugging it in. Worst case scenario is having to solder some leads. Must be some online techs in England who could do this.

    It's possible as someone alluded there is only one worldwide transformer - two halves wired in parallel gives you 115 primary, wired in series gives you 230 - close enough. Many amps have switchable primary and that's all it does. Some you even just flip the fuse holder around.

    That's why it'd be good to get a schematic.
     
    Martext likes this.
  14. Old Tele man

    Old Tele man Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,941
    Joined:
    May 10, 2017
    Location:
    Once banned always banned
    Two major differences: US = 120V @ 60Hz and UK = 230V @ 50Hz.
     
  15. Martext

    Martext TDPRI Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Location:
    England
    Yeah, exactly the reason I need to change something!
     
  16. Dacious

    Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,575
    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2003
    Location:
    Godzone
    I don't know - In theory there's a difference but we get English Vox and Marshall amps here in Oz [email protected] hz and they do absolutely no changes apart from plug. They used to do multivolt now it's usually just got two primaries, 110-120 and 220-240, now despite our top tolerance being 253 volts. Same with solid state stuff.

    I had two multivolt export Fenders, lots of taps, no change other than that. Schematic exactly the same except export volts. If there is a difference, it must either have been allowed for or be of no significance.

    I've brought amps from the US and UK and dropped the standard 220-240 volt export transformer for the US, just plug for UK - plug them in, fire them up. Voltage so far has been lower than Fender tolerance - usually less than 10 volt B+.

    I don't know how higher hz would manifest itself except perhaps higher temps but Marshall for decades made one transformer for the world except I think Canada which demands single-volt transformers unable to be wired any other day.
     
  17. Asmith

    Asmith Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,920
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Location:
    East Yorkshire, England
    I would suspect that a UK made amp would have a universal transformer. I would try VOX again instead of asking if the transformer is used for UK voltages if wired correctly rather than asking about an exchange.
     
    Martext likes this.
  18. VintageSG

    VintageSG Friend of Leo's Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    4,490
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2016
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Martext likes this.
  19. Martext

    Martext TDPRI Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Location:
    England
    Yeah, Ive been across that page and seen the various part numbers which lead me to think/realise the transformer probably wasn't a tap-able one.
    I've spoken to vox again, third time lucky, some helpful and sitting with someone knowledgeable....so now sorted, I have an official Vox UK transformer on route.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2017
  20. Martext

    Martext TDPRI Member

    Age:
    45
    Posts:
    10
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2017
    Location:
    England
    Thanks to everyone for their input.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.