1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Vox ac15c1 issue

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Msudad, Nov 6, 2020.

  1. Msudad

    Msudad TDPRI Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2020
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Hello! I am new to the forum and had a question that I can’t seem to find an answer to searching forums. I have a vox ac15c1 that occasionally stops working, no tube glow at all. When it first happened I checked all the fuses (out of the amp with a multimeter, all checked out) and after I put the last one in again (ht one) and tried the amp again, it worked perfectly again. The second time I just took out the ht fuse again, squished the fuse prongs together some, plopped it back in, and worked again. Happened twice today again, same solution l. Pushed with a popsicle stick near and around the fuse to see if there was maybe a bad solder and couldn’t get the amp to repeat the behavior. Does anyone have an idea? Could the fuse be failing but not all the way yet? No other issues. Before I take it to a tech figured I’d see if your collective wisdom had encountered the issue before.
     
  2. Whatizitman

    Whatizitman Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,448
    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2018
    Location:
    WV
    A fuse does not halfway fail. It’s meant to fail completely to protect the rest of circuit in the event of a ground fault, current surge, etc... I’d venture to say the fuse has nothing to do with whatever is going on.

    Could be any of several scenarios. Best to take it to a tech.
     
    ZackyDog likes this.
  3. RoscoeElegante

    RoscoeElegante Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,284
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2015
    Location:
    TooFarFromCanada
    Welcome, Msudad. And yes, tech time. Hopefully it's just a simple thing, but you don't want risk damaging your amp/it damaging itself. That's a pretty big warning sign flashing there.

    Best of luck on this, and post again about what it turns out to be.

    Great amp, by the way. I love mine, though that stiff speaker took a while to really break in.
     
  4. ZackyDog

    ZackyDog Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,969
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Location:
    PNW
    This. Don't try to Jimmy-Rig it.
     
  5. CV Jee Beez

    CV Jee Beez Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    866
    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2016
    Location:
    Duarte, CA
    Try new tubes
     
  6. Msudad

    Msudad TDPRI Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2020
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Thanks, I will report back when I figure it out.
     
  7. jguitarman

    jguitarman Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    1,780
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Location:
    No CA
    Sounds like something is changing/expanding once it warms up. You're shutting off the amp so it cools and then works again until it heats up. I'm anxious to hear what the problem is.
     
  8. Zacateca

    Zacateca TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Location:
    Argentina
    I had a similar issue, took it to a tech and it only was a loose connector inside.
     
  9. Msudad

    Msudad TDPRI Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2020
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Do you know where the loose connection was?
     
  10. GreatDaneRock

    GreatDaneRock Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    630
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2018
    Location:
    Central FL
    Take it to a tech my friend, there's a reason why many are recommending this. Keep us posted, thx.

    GDR
     
  11. Zacateca

    Zacateca TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    47
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2014
    Location:
    Argentina
    No, unfortunately I don't.
     
  12. Msudad

    Msudad TDPRI Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2020
    Location:
    Madison, WI
    Returned it within the 45 days at GC. The only tech I could find near me guesstimated $150-200. Got an egnater tweaker 15 used and loving it. Still miss the ac15, next amp...when I can convince my wife I need another that is.
     
  13. jguitarman

    jguitarman Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    1,780
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Location:
    No CA
    I didn't realize this was anew amp. You could have exchanged it for another AC15 but if you're happy with the Tweaker then so be it. Welcome to the forum.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.