Vox AC10C1 Owners Club

Discussion in 'Amp Owners Clubs' started by StormJH1, Sep 28, 2015.

  1. mnutz

    mnutz Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,239
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Location:
    Heartland of America
    Do any of you guys with AC10s run a digital modeler through it?

    I've got a Vox Stomplab I use mainly with headphones and I wonder how it would sound through the AC10. How much does not putting it through an FX Loop color the tone?
     
  2. tom310

    tom310 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    215
    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    Location:
    Kansas
    I run a Zoom G3 and a Zoom MS-50G into my AC10C1 and love it. I only run it at bedroom volumes (Gain at 9:00 and Master around 8:00/9:00), but it gives me the sounds I need.
     
    mnutz likes this.
  3. mnutz

    mnutz Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,239
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Location:
    Heartland of America
    I made the rounds of all the guitar forums and I don't think I've ever seen an amp so well regarded by everyone. Strat guys, teles, Les Paul, offsets, everybody likes it! That's pretty amazing!
     
  4. sliberty

    sliberty Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,278
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Location:
    East Brunswick, NJ
    Yea, I guess they don't know it has the evil MOSFETs inside ;)
     
    Bluesbird, PK38 and mnutz like this.
  5. 3-Chord-Genius

    3-Chord-Genius Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,363
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Hahaha!!!! Yeah... it's been DEFILED!!!
     
    Richie-string, mnutz and JBFatFingers like this.
  6. nico1950

    nico1950 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hello: i use a Stomplab 1G on my AC10C1 and it works great. For me the Reverb, echo, tremolo and chorus sound as well as i hoped for.
    Very satisfied with the sounds.
     
  7. mnutz

    mnutz Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,239
    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Location:
    Heartland of America
    Hey that's great to hear! Thank you!
     
  8. sliberty

    sliberty Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,278
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Location:
    East Brunswick, NJ
    A few weeks ago, I set out on a quest to reduce the gain on my AC10C1. I am currently into pedals for my overdrive tones, and so I wanted a bit more clean from the AC10. I changed the preamp tubes to a 5751 and a 12AT7. Last night, we rehearsed, and I was really pleased with the results. I could still easily push the amp into smooth saturation heaven, but when I wanted cleans, I got great cleans.

    A friend recommended another option, based upon the schematic. He felt that the first MOSFET was configured with too much gain, and proposed a resistor change. I didn't bring the amp home last night, so I can't try that mod just yet, but once I do, I will get back on here and report.
     
    mnutz, mysteriousfish and markal like this.
  9. nico1950

    nico1950 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    69
    Posts:
    20
    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2014
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    This is my set: Telecaster USA, AC10C1 and Tonelab 1G, ready to play. P1010661a.jpg
     
  10. dotnetbrett

    dotnetbrett TDPRI Member

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    15
    Joined:
    May 1, 2017
    Location:
    Columbia, MD
    Thank you so much for running through all this stuff about the differences between the AC 4 and the AC10.
     
    Scaper2014 likes this.
  11. Scaper2014

    Scaper2014 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Location:
    Stoke-On-Trent
    My pleasure!
    I still stand by my opinion of getting a hand wired Vox AC4HW but I would possibly recommend putting in the new Celestion alnico Cream. If money is no object obviously :)

    I have since purchased the handwired AC15HW1 amp and I have to be totally honest, The hand wired versions are out of this world and sound completely different to the C1 range of amps. Save if you can!
     
  12. sliberty

    sliberty Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,278
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Location:
    East Brunswick, NJ
    I suspect that the HW series are true(r) to the original schematics, and probably have higher quality transformers as well.
     
  13. Scaper2014

    Scaper2014 Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    407
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Location:
    Stoke-On-Trent
    I think all the C1 and HW range of the Vox AC line up are all fantastic. The only one thats lacking is the AC10C1, which is such a shame because its one of the best sounding but the build quality is absolutely shocking in-side. I'm wondering if it was just a low cost production to test the waters for the unleash of a twin AC10c2 or handwired AC10.
     
    Bluesbird and mysteriousfish like this.
  14. 3-Chord-Genius

    3-Chord-Genius Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,363
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    I would not say that the build quality is bad, but the component layout is weird.
     
    Bluesbird likes this.
  15. mysteriousfish

    mysteriousfish TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Location:
    Ontario
    Hey guys check out what vox is saying about this special edition of the ac10c1: "The AC10C1 is now available in Maroon Bronco color scheme for a limited time. Introduced in the 1960s, the original VOX AC10 has become a highly coveted piece of VOX history. The new, all-tube AC10C1 continues the legacy of the original and offers 10 watts of classic VOX Top Boost tone, reverb, and a master volume." Taken from http://www.voxamps.com/LimitedEditions .


    Is "all tube" a fair statement considering the dirty, greasy mosfet in the pre-amp? Or did they change something.
     
    mnutz and 3-Chord-Genius like this.
  16. sliberty

    sliberty Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,278
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Location:
    East Brunswick, NJ
    I doubt they changed anything since it is still called the AC10C1. If it had a new circuit, I would expect them to change the designation. I think they are just laying fast and loose with the fact that both the preamp and power amp have tubes in them. But with that logic, you could also call it an "all solid state amp" I suppose :)
     
    mnutz likes this.
  17. mysteriousfish

    mysteriousfish TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    21
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2014
    Location:
    Ontario
    Yea I couldn't imagine they'd change it, just found it curious cause the original ac10c1's description doesn't have the all tube part on their site. Vox would do well to follow these threads in order to see what we nerds like/dislike. *cough* ac10 with 2 speakers & 2 channels *cough*
     
    41144 and mnutz like this.
  18. 3-Chord-Genius

    3-Chord-Genius Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,363
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    Very likely the same all tube (tube preamp and tube power amp) as in the other AC10C1's, just a different color. All this really means is that I need to get another one!
     
    mnutz and mysteriousfish like this.
  19. schotter611

    schotter611 Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    702
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Location:
    Berlin
    Such a classy little amp!
    I'm in (sorry no Tele).

    IMG_3991_small.jpg
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2017
    SnowStorm, richey88 and mnutz like this.
  20. 3-Chord-Genius

    3-Chord-Genius Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,363
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2015
    Location:
    Winchester, VA
    You're not done spending your money yet. I just picked up an AC10C1 cover from Sweetwater.
    1507820370873.jpg
     
    Richie-string and schotter611 like this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.