1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Volume pedals: Why the "TUNER OUT" jack???

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by E5RSY, Apr 7, 2020.

  1. E5RSY

    E5RSY Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    11,481
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    I don't get it. But, I am admittedly pretty new to volume pedals, in general.

    What's the scoop?

    Scott
     
  2. Peegoo

    Peegoo Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,000
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Location:
    Between the Raindrops
    It's so the tuner doesn't load down your signal; no need for a buffer or so-called "true bypass" B.S.
     
  3. Si G X

    Si G X Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,176
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2019
    Location:
    England
    also so you can reduce the volume to zero and tune silently with a regular tuner (that isn't a tuner pedal)
     
  4. E5RSY

    E5RSY Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    11,481
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    This is the only thing that makes sense, which also means it's an obsolete idea. Don't see many TU-12s on boards anymore. :)
     
    Matthias likes this.
  5. Si G X

    Si G X Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,176
    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2019
    Location:
    England
    Rack tuner? :D
     
    Modman68 likes this.
  6. jrblue

    jrblue Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,527
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Location:
    Santa Barbara
    I like a buffered signal; some don't. That's enough reason for this feature. It's not obsolete. Others like to limit the number of pedals, wire runs, jacks, etc. in their signal chain, for simplicity and reliability, and that's a good reason, too.
     
  7. schmee

    schmee Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    14,864
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    This^^^
     
  8. Picker2

    Picker2 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    66
    Posts:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2020
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    Can't get my tuner to work on my Ernie Ball
     
  9. 39martind18

    39martind18 Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    70
    Posts:
    2,475
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2012
    Location:
    Spring TX
    If you were married, you'd understand.
     
    jddub440 likes this.
  10. omahaaudio

    omahaaudio Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,271
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2015
    Location:
    France
    It's for a tuner.
     
    Boil likes this.
  11. E5RSY

    E5RSY Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    11,481
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    So, it sounds like it is meant for those who apparently still imbibe the "true bypass/buffer fear" kool-aid. Aside from that, there does not seem to be any reason to put a tuner "pedal" on the TUNER OUT jack, whatsoever. An old-style non-pedal tuner like the SEIKO I had as a kid, yes, of course. But, a modern pedal tuner? No.

    Interestingly, it doesn't take much looking to find those who think a tuner is coloring their sound even at the end of the dead-end street that is the TUNER OUT jack. :rolleyes:
     
    MilwMark likes this.
  12. soundchaser59

    soundchaser59 Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,469
    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Location:
    Up The Creek
    and without having the tuner in your signal chain.
     
  13. scooteraz

    scooteraz Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,560
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Tuner out works brilliantly on my EB MVP. And now they have apparently released the VP JR +Tuner....
     
  14. MilwMark

    MilwMark Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    12,477
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2013
    Location:
    near Arnold's
    I don't get it either. The tuner out loads down the signal even more in my head.

    What tuner pedal doesn't have bypass these days?
     
    fakeocaster likes this.
  15. telel6s

    telel6s Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,819
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    Only because you asked: BOSS TU-3S
    https://www.boss.info/us/products/tu-3s/

    [​IMG]
     
  16. E5RSY

    E5RSY Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    11,481
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
  17. telel6s

    telel6s Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,819
    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    You say tomato, BOSS says stompbox.

    BOSS lists the TU-3s as a stompbox. It's designed to be used with switchers or tuner-outs on volume pedals since there is no need for a switch in those applications. Or for those few people who keep their TU-2s and TU-3s always on. And it has no bypass.
     
    teleplayr and jddub440 like this.
  18. E5RSY

    E5RSY Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    11,481
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Location:
    Georgetown, TX
    Pedals, by definition, involve feet. Despite what the BOSS web designers may think, not all tuners are pedals/stompboxes.
     
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2020
  19. Peegoo

    Peegoo Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    8,000
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Location:
    Between the Raindrops
    Well now we're a bit off topic...
     
  20. yyr123

    yyr123 TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    92
    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2019
    Location:
    Austin TX
    Yes on both accounts

    Never fails to be late for a gig and your pedal board won’t work

    Plug straight into the amp and turn it up
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.