Volume knob on Baja not working properly

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by a1terrier, May 29, 2020.

  1. a1terrier

    a1terrier TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, England.
    Hi All

    I have a Fender Baja Telecaster which I have had from new. Not played it for a while, just got it out and plugged in but found that volume control only works from 8 upwards. It wasn’t like that before.
    Does it need a new volume control?
    Checked for loose connections but there are none.

    thanks
     
  2. moosie

    moosie Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    17,324
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    Western Connecticut
    What does that mean? What happens below 8? No output? Stays that level all the way down?
     
  3. a1terrier

    a1terrier TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, England.
    Hi
    Thanks for reply

    it’s probably at about 7 when volume starts, nothing before that.

    done a bit of a search and it seems it’s common with Bajas
     
  4. moosie

    moosie Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    17,324
    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Location:
    Western Connecticut
    First, I'd check that the outer pot lug is grounded properly. IIRC, that vol pot has an S1 switch on it. Ignore that.

    Next, if you have good continuity to ground from that lug, I'd spray some DeOxit on the track/wiper, and see if that helps.

    If that doesn't fix it, or even change anything, the next step would be to disconnect the leads from the pot (not the switch part, just the pot) and test with a meter.


    The only reason I could see this being 'common' to Bajas, is because it's an S1, and maybe there's some issue with S1s - though I've never had a problem with them... Beyond that, pots are pots, Fender uses CTS throughout, and they don't differentiate by guitar model.
     
  5. Tuxedo Poly

    Tuxedo Poly Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,823
    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2011
    Location:
    Merseyside UK
    In the UK DeOxit equivalent is Electrolube contact cleaner. Maplins used to sell a cheaper version but alas they are no longer with us.
    Warning! Do not use standard WD40.
    As moosie said, the Baja volume pot is an S1 switch so hopefully the contact cleaner will fix the problem.
     
  6. a1terrier

    a1terrier TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    38
    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2008
    Location:
    West Yorkshire, England.
    Hi All

    thanks for suggestions
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.