1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Vintage Tuner Clean Up

Discussion in 'The DIY Tool Shed' started by bottomfeeder, Jan 21, 2021.

1. bottomfeeder

bottomfeeder Tele-Meister

I'm restoring a mid 60's Kay K573 Speed Demon. The Kluson tuners have some corrosion and I'm looking for advice on the best chemical/technique for cleaning them up without damaging the buttons. Please note ahead of time that I'm a novice at restorations.
    20210121_121655.jpg 20210121_121726.jpg

2. Peegoo

Peegoo Poster Extraordinaire

You'll never get it back to looking brand new, but that will clean up nicely.

Cut some masking tape into small pieces and carefully wrap each plastic button to protect it. Use 0000 steel wool and a mild solvent such as mineral spirits, kerosene, or WD40 to scrub off as much surface rust as possible. Take your time and don't press too hard as you work. Painter's gloves are a good idea here.

When done, rinse off the parts well, taking care to blast some solvent into the housings and rotate the buttons to help flush out the old lube that's in there (goggles are mandatory for this operation). Use compressed air (goggles here too) to blow out all the solvent and dry the parts. Don't use heat/hot air.

Remove the tape from the buttons, dampen a towel with mineral spirits or naphtha, and wipe all surfaces clean. Dry it off and add a drop of light oil to each gear housing. Give each button four or five fill turns to distribute the oil in the gears/bearing surfaces, and give it one last wipedown.

That's how I do it.

PeterUK and old wrench like this.
  3. Boreas

Boreas Friend of Leo's Silver Supporter