Vintage Selmer Project

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by Si G X, Feb 6, 2020.

1. Si G X

Si G X Tele-Meister

Hi everyone... I've decided to do something about this little UK made amp that I inherited from a friend who sadly passed away last year. I think he found it in someone's loft/basement/garage while he was doing some work for them and they were going to toss it, so he brought it home and kept it.

Anyway it's in my hands now and I think I need to at least try and get it going, so I thought you all might be interested and maybe I can get some help along the way. I'm not a total noob when it comes to electronics, amps and soldering but I'm not super experienced either, especially with vintage stuff. If anyone has any thought or knows anything about the amp feel free to chime in.

There's a lot of pics coming first, so hold tight and they might be over a few posts. :)

IMG_20200206_093208.jpg

Original Vinyl Cover, still in good condition. :)

IMG_20200206_093222.jpg

Two-tone cab and nice flecked cloth, again very nice condition.
    IMG_20200206_093239.jpg

The on/off switch is incorporated into the tone knob, which is sadly missing it's brass? Copper? insert.
    IMG_20200206_093255.jpg

Back of the amp, that feels like cardboard! .. but I guess it's the same fibreboard stuff that they used to make the backs of TV out of. It's really nice to see 'Made in England' on the back, it's something you don't see so much on anything these days. :(
    IMG_20200206_093347.jpg

2x inputs... and a warning sticker that is remarkably intact "not suitable for bass instruments" :D ... it's just a paper sticker, so it's been kept dry all these years thankfully.
    IMG_20200206_093405.jpg

The back is held on by these little corner tabs, there appears to be a logo on them. an 'S' for Selmer or something else?

Internals coming next, hope you are finding this interesting. I'm quite excited myself!

2. Si G X

Si G X Tele-Meister