Vintage or modern truss rod?

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by POS Guitars, Oct 11, 2019.

1. POS Guitars

POS Guitars Tele-Meister

I have built some vintage vibe guitars, but I feel like it my be time to modernize. What are your thoughts on single versus double action truss rods in this context, and what about contour cuts? (Modern truss rod bonus: easier to rout for, IMHO).

ben smith likes this.
  2. Jim_in_PA

Jim_in_PA Tele-Holic Ad Free Member

I'm new to this, but unless there's a need or desire to be absolutely true to the original, even for something that's hidden, the double-action truss rods can provide more utility and as you note, are pretty darn easy to install. If you're fine with "what's hidden can be modern", then that's the way to go, IMHO. In the end, outside of duplication for posterity, how an instrument performs, including over time, has a lot of importance.

DeanEVO_Dude likes this.
  3. El Tele Lobo

El Tele Lobo Friend of Leo's

I was considering purchasing a neck with a modern double-acting truss rod but heard they make necks much heavier and can cause other complications as well. Anyone care to comment, refute or substantiate?

4. ben smith

ben smith Tele-Holic

yes double action all the way, living in sweden now the weather plays havoc with my one piece maple neck so having a double action is needed. I feel no difference in weight either. even if you live in the states try northwest guitars here in england they make beautiful necks and all of them have double action rods

5. Crafty Fox

Crafty Fox Tele-Afflicted

I'm currently building my 17th guitar; all have double action rods. No problems so far.

6. POS Guitars

POS Guitars Tele-Meister