Vibrolux 68 reissue speaker swap

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by LKNJ, Jun 2, 2019.

1. LKNJ

LKNJ Tele-Meister

i have a 68 reissue Vibrolux. One of the stock 30/10 speakers is damaged. Anyone have any experience with swapping out speakers on this amp? Is there a better sounding set out the than the stock speakers?

I’m looking for something that will still sound like a Fender (though, would it make sense to mix and match?). And, I don’t want any breakup from the speaker itself. I typically try to run this amp fairly clean and use it as a pedal platform.

Thanks!

2. BBill64

BBill64 Tele-Afflicted

Ragin cajun? i think that would suit how you use it.

LKNJ likes this.
  3. LKNJ

LKNJ Tele-Meister

Thanks! Do you think there is any reason to try different speakers in it? I’ve never done that before, so kind of curious.

Thanks!

4. uriah1

uriah1 Telefied Gold Supporter

Copperhead also.
    Rajin is pretty bold. imho

LKNJ likes this.
  5. Dacious

Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

I can only reiterate what I"be said about the Eminence Alessandro speakers, which are designed to sound like a 50's speaker.

They are rated 20 watts, they have cardboard voicecoil formers. I have one in my 83 Superchamp which the clean channel is basically a BF Princeton reverb. GA10-SC64.

It sounds fabulous. Takes drive, works with natural breakup. Clean it has a sweet, papery for want of a better word. I am an alnico but, this is a ceramic magnet but it just works.

6. LKNJ

LKNJ Tele-Meister

Is this a speaker that stays clean, or do you get speaker breakup with it? Thanks!

7. Dacious

It stays clean until poweramp breakup. Then it gives it up gradually. It takes a lot of distortion without fartout. It's 98db efficiency - very efficient for a 10".

My SC is dissipating 18watts into a DR output transformer. With this speaker it's sound is very even and balanced.