Valvecaster issues

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by jddub440, Apr 5, 2017.

1. jddub440

jddub440 Tele-Holic

Hey guys, I'm back to building and this is my first time getting into capacitors! I built this Valvecaster using the exact parts listed and it sounds soooo good but I'm having a little bit of issues with my pots....

The master volume (to the left) is great and does exactly what you'd expect a volume pot to do. However my tone pot (in the middle) seems to be a slave volume instead and is also increasing volume when sweeping it counter clockwise; and then the drive pot (to the right) seems to always be at a 10 no matter where I turn it to.

I will admit I did not solder any parts together yet because I wanted to make sure I liked it first...some parts are wire wrapped, some taped down and I did also tape all the ground wires together as you might be able to see in the picture.

I'm hoping somebodys can help me with either:
    A) figuring out what I did wrong and telling me what I can do to remedy the tone and drive pot situation......or B) figure out how to take the drive and tone pots out of the schematic so I just have a simple volume based real tube driving pedal....because I already enjoy the tone and drive that I'm getting out of it anyways!!!
    1491408697393.jpg 1491408707020.jpg 1491408725062.jpg 1491408738789.jpg

TeleOrLes likes this.
  2. jddub440

jddub440 Tele-Holic

I forgot to add that I built the version without the footswitch because I've already built a ton of true bypass type loopers so I just stuck the valvecaster into one of those until I am going to build a final version.

TeleOrLes likes this.
  3. jddub440

jddub440 Tele-Holic