1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Using a drum machine

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by AussieAndrew, Mar 18, 2013.

1. AussieAndrew

AussieAndrew Friend of Leo's

I have been using drum machines that also do "bass" for many years. I started with a Yamaha RY10 but wasn't happy with it.
    I bought a Roland BOSS DR880 Rhythm Programmer about 7 years ago and was very happy with it. It takes quite a bit of getting used to, but it really changed the game for me. I can program complete songs any way I want, any song want, any tempo and almost any time signature.
    It has a plethora of drum & percussion and bass sounds. Every sound can be tailored, equalized,compressed, you name it. The bass can be bent up & down and sustain as long as necessary. It also has guitar modeling features with are pretty darned authentic if I want to run my axe through it, which I don't anymore.
    I run the machine through an equalizer then into my Pioneer tube stereo and crank it up.
    I play my axe/s through proper tube amps & use pedals, in the conventional way.
    I could gig with this set up if I wanted but I've lost interest in that over the years, but I have some really good loud fun at home.
    I've used the DR880 to record a couple of Cd's and they came out pretty impressive with my guitar and vocals. (24 track recorder program).
    Obviously it won't replace a top notch drummer or bassist but set up properly is very impressive.
    The only mistakes are made by me and there are no arguments with anybody, I can only kick myself.

Doe's anyone else use drum machines for practice or gigging.
    All opinions and experiences are welcome- love 'em, like 'em or hate 'em :confused:

Andrew.

2. AussieAndrew

This is it. Boss DR880 Rhythm Programmer.

Last edited: May 4, 2013
  3. Freejack