using 2 amps.

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Unpossible, Nov 21, 2021.

  1. Unpossible

    Unpossible Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Location:
    Cal
    think i might have decided how to handle home/small gig/big gig challenge.

    2 small/medium sized amps i can mix and match. They will each be combos in the same size cabs.
    use amp 1 for practice/ small gig.
    Add 2nd for big gig. Place together or spread apart.
    They will be slightly different sounding, but can be set to sound similar.

    For people who use 2 amps, apart from phase issues, any other considerations?
     
    Maguchi likes this.
  2. northernguitar

    northernguitar Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,883
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2009
    Location:
    North of Toronto
    Too much fuss, IMO. Why not just use one amp?

    Place in front of speaker. Use PA. Play Enormodome.

    [​IMG]
     
    radtz, ce24, ReverendRevolver and 3 others like this.
  3. Dismalhead

    Dismalhead Poster Extraordinaire

    Age:
    58
    Posts:
    8,905
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Location:
    Antelope, California
    All I can tell you about going into two amps is that some amps jive together and some don't, and you won't know until you try it.

    I just went back to stereo'ing into two small combos - not the same size though. I've got a 5-watt Supro and a 20-watt Mesa; plenty loud for anywhere I'll play. I use a Digitech Multi-chorus to split the signal. Nice thing about going into two amps is that they can each serve as backup for the other if anything goes wrong with one.


    [​IMG]
     
    Crobbins, Lowspeid and mad dog like this.
  4. mad dog

    mad dog Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,602
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Location:
    Montclair, NJ
    It's great fun. As Dismalhead says, you can't tell how well two amps will match up til you try them together.

    My favorite duos differ notably in midrange.

    - Gibson GA40 and '67 BF Deluxe Reverb
    - Magnatone Varsity non-reverb and '68 SFDR

    I think it's the relatively scooped nature of the Fenders that make it work so well. In each case, the two together sound way different than either apart.
     
    NoTeleBob and Dismalhead like this.
  5. naveed211

    naveed211 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,537
    Joined:
    May 16, 2009
    Location:
    Iowa
    I tend to agree with this stance, nowadays. Ease of setup and load in/out for me is more important. Still sounds great with one amp.

    If you do go with two amps, see if you can go with two that sound kinda different. They fill in each other’s gaps and make for a nice mix. Years ago for a church gig, I ran an old Gibson Discoverer that had some mids paired with a Bad Cat Mini Cat that was all high end chime. They complimented each other quite well.
     
  6. schmee

    schmee Doctor of Teleocity Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    17,316
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    I found setting up two amps at gigs just frustrating and more work. Humming, inadequate room on stage, someone complaining the guitars to loud on their side of the stage, etc etc.
     
  7. rze99

    rze99 Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,137
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Location:
    South London UK
    I usually use two amps.
    One set darker and dirtier the other cleaner and brighter. The two together sound better to me than one by itself and when I record I pan them. Perfect.
     
  8. mexicanyella

    mexicanyella Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,617
    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Location:
    Troy, MO
    I n gigged with a pair of 1959-1960 Valco 1 x 10 amps—little tweed amps with about 12-15 watts from a a pair of 6973 tubes—for a few years in the 90s. I had no phase issues and found them easy to carry and set up. I’d split the signal to them with a little Boss digital reverb or my chorus pedal, both of which had stereo outputs.

    With two, I could run them in their sweet spot where I still had some headroom but it sounded like they were working a little. It didn’t seem any more difficult than using one amp...two easy-to-carry boxes, each with a single volume and tone knob.

    They did break from time to time, and when one did, I’d sub in my Peavey Audition 20 for one of them. It sounded fine...not different enough to worry about once the band was going.
     
  9. PARCO

    PARCO Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    504
    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2008
    Location:
    VA
    I used to gig my Goodsell Super17 with a Ampeg Reverb rocket 12. The two worked really well together. These days a lot of places are either too small to take advantage of this setup or the stages are too small to use two amps. The Goodsell on it's own works just fine.
     
    Reverb and Dismalhead like this.
  10. Midgetje94

    Midgetje94 Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    1,513
    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2021
    Location:
    Texas
    3rd! (Cause it’s already been seconded lol) I run my fender Excelsior (bright and twangy) and a old VC20 for the more driven stuff. Don’t need two but looks and sounds cool lol
     
    naveed211 likes this.
  11. muscmp

    muscmp Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,027
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    california
    i use a 75 vibrochamp and 76 champ. run one fairly bright and the other fairly dark. i do use a pedalboard that gives me a stereo sound. to me, having two similar amps set differently is much easier than one above poster trying to run a loud mesa with a small supro. you'll need to barely turn up the mesa and crank the supro. may work tho as with everything it is all subjective. i have tried that with my mesa mkiib and the champ. mesa sounded terrible on 1 altho the champ sounded great on 9.
    play music!
     
  12. Eastbound71

    Eastbound71 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    36
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2019
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    I agree with micing the amp. I was shocked myself at how well it will works when I first tried it. You get huge sound through a decent PA
     
    Maguchi and northernguitar like this.
  13. JohnnyThul

    JohnnyThul TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    31
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2021
    Location:
    Germany
    Hi Unpossible,

    I did that for years with 2 Vox Ac30's. The possible phase and grounding issues can be avoided by using a good A/B Box (I used a Lehle Dual SGOS which works perfect for that). I have to say, I played in a Trio, so, I did not have the trouble to make the sound work with another guitarist.
    Both amps were set actually more or less to the same sound, but I had different speakers in the amps and that worked pretty well for me.
    A nice thing I can recommend is using a TC Electronic Mimiq Doubler, you can get massive wall of sound by using this with 2 amps when playing powerchords, lots of fun! :) But it may annoy a 2nd guitarist.

    Best regards

    Jonas
     
    mojek likes this.
  14. Unpossible

    Unpossible Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    115
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Location:
    Cal
    Thanks for all advice.
    Very useful.
     
  15. Masmus

    Masmus Tele-Holic

    Age:
    53
    Posts:
    761
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2018
    Location:
    San Jose
    Serious phase problems are caused usually by using two mics on the same source like cymbal overheads and bleeding into another mic at a different distance that causes a nearly identical signal to be shifted in one mic. I don’t think two amplifiers set for different sounds would be as likely to phase, if someone has expressed this I’m sure they will correct me but I don’t think it would be a problem.
     
    Maguchi likes this.
  16. Milspec

    Milspec Poster Extraordinaire Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    6,178
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Location:
    Nebraska
    I play through a Twin Reverb and Princeton at the same time quite often. They sound fantastic together and I will even switch back and forth at times depending on need.

    That isn't all that convenient though unless you have a Tonemaster Twin.
     
    Dismalhead likes this.
  17. Willie Johnson

    Willie Johnson Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    101
    Posts:
    1,936
    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    Added a little-used Champion 600 to my two Princeton rig this week; adds some honk and dry signal to the slapback delay and on-board reverb from the other amps.
     
    xjazzy likes this.
  18. xjazzy

    xjazzy Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,807
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ground loop is another problem.
    I have a Palmer PLI-01 isolator to avoid hum from ground loops. Works great.
    I love using two amps but right now I'm only doing it at home.
     
  19. Thin white duke

    Thin white duke Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    2,535
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2017
    Location:
    italy
    Two amps are great, at home in front of you, in a live gig too much hassle, imho.
     
    northernguitar likes this.
  20. saleake

    saleake Tele-Meister Silver Supporter

    Age:
    71
    Posts:
    371
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Location:
    Texas
    I always take two amps, one American voiced and one British voiced, controlled with a Radial Twin City ABY. I rarely play them at the same time, but the Radial has a ground lift and a polarity switch so I can if I want to.
     
    Milspec likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.