USA STANDARD TELE 2009

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by SPECTRUM001, Jan 13, 2020.

1. SPECTRUM001

SPECTRUM001 TDPRI Member

Hi,

And hope everyone is well !

I recently acquired a really nice 2009 Standard. Light, with a great neck and feel. I absolutely love the neck pick-up, however find the bridge to be somewhat lacklustre.

Searching online, I have seen this comment been mentioned previously - it seems I am not alone in that appraisal.

So - I am thinking of trying a Texas Special or Custom 62 (this is just for the bridge, as I wish to retain the neck pick-up as is).

Here's my question - can anyone advise of dos and don'ts ?? Will my suggestions be compatible a) physically (ie are there any problems fitting replacement pick-ups) and b) with values/ohm ratings ?

As you may tell, I have never done this before, and do not want to spend a chunk of cash on something that was never going to work.

Any help would be greeatly appreciated !!!

Thanks guys - J

2. Si G X

Si G X Tele-Holic

It's a simple swap, just a couple of wires to de-solder/re-solder, all tele bridge pickups are pretty much the same dimensions so there's no issues changing to a different one usually. The only time I've ever had any issues was fitting a stacked humbucker into a shallow route but that was a specific circumstance that isn't usually the case.

I like the texas specials but really the choices are unlimited, depending on what you are after.

3. SPECTRUM001

SPECTRUM001 TDPRI Member

Thanks for the heads up - that is a good start.

Obviously I welcome any opinion on the replacement. To try and explain - the stock 2009 neck pick-up has a gritty resonance, and is actually quite twangy, hence I really like it. The bridge is quite bright, however just a little....dull (no oomph).

I do not want to go down the SD Quarter Pound route, as I am not after a thick sound, just something a little more exciting than the stock 2009 thin bridge.