1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Upgrade MiM pickups to American?

Discussion in 'Just Pickups' started by homerkp, Oct 20, 2020.

1. homerkp

homerkp TDPRI Member

So I've been playing a MiM Tele for a some 15 years. It's a 1988-2003 model. Last year I bought some Twisted Tele pickups and after a month or so I took em back out. Sometimes you need to lose something to realize its value. Anyway.

I've been trying to sell the Twisted Teles for months now. I got an offer and I think the guy is willing to take em for €130. Then he mentioned that his Tele is a 2008 American Standard. So I said I'd be willing to trade the TT for his stock pickups.

My question is, is it a good trade for me? I currently have a friend's American Tele that I borrowed specifically to see how much better the American Tele pickups are. I haven't had much time to try it but I jumped at the trade opportunity today. I'd appreciate some guidance.

2. mkdaws32

mkdaws32 Tele-Afflicted Gold Supporter

I don’t think it’s a bad trade. You likely won’t be able to sell them for 130 pounds if you don’t like them, though. Hard to say if the pickups will be the same a your friend’s, though. Fender has used so many different pickups in their MIA guitars.

But it will give you a chance to hear a different set in your Tele. If it were me, I’d do it just to hear the difference and not be worried about a small loss - but that’s me.

3. Nick Fanis

Nick Fanis Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

AS pickups bridge pups up to 2012 ,when they were replaced by REAL tele bridge pickups,are very mediocre (IMHO they are awful), they lack a baseplate so they aren't even tele pickups they are shrill and thin sounding.

But you prefer the cheap ceramic pickups of your MIM,also with no baseplate,to the Twisted Teles so YMMV...

4. tele12