1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Unusual Wiring Mod Help

Discussion in 'Other T-Types and Partscasters' started by nigenarceda, Mar 13, 2019.

1. nigenarceda

nigenarceda TDPRI Member

Hi guys! So I'm planning to modify my SX telecaster into something unusual for a tele. I intend to put dual rail PU for the bridge and pair it up with a P90 or PAF for the neck (haven't decided yet). I want to install a les paul style 3 way switch at the pickguard just at the bottom of the neck PU for it is easier for me to switch for my style of playing. And here's the catch. I still want to use the stock 3 way blade switch. I intend to use it as a parallel/split/series switch just like this esquire type wiring shown on the pic

[​IMG]

My question is would this be possible? Unfortunately for me, I'm a noob to electronics (I'm trying to learn though) and wanted to ask the assistance of wiring pros here. Basically what I need is a les paul style 3 way PU switch and the stock tele 3 way blade switch for the parallel/split/series for the bridge PU only. Thanks and good day! :)

ben smith likes this.
  2. ben smith

ben smith Tele-Afflicted

I was going to do something very similar to this, but i was going to make the tone pot another volume as i feel there is no need for a tone pot with a p90 or a hotrail, that was i can have my clean sound on the neck pickup with the volume down and switch to bridge for overdrive. of course it's possible, i can't help with the schemaic though sorry.

nigenarceda likes this.
  3. bgmacaw

bgmacaw Poster Extraordinaire

It should be doable. Draw out your circuit ahead of time.