Uni-vibe and/or Phaser....need both?

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by bluesholyman, Dec 6, 2019.

1. bluesholyman

bluesholyman Tele-Afflicted

The differences between these, when thePhaser is set right, seems so close. Maybe its just the warble (un-evenness?) of the 'Vibes waveform that distinguishes it.

I like the Uni-vibe sound and always thought of phaser as that 80s Van Halen sound, until I started playing with one and discovered a uni-vibe-like sound in there as well as some Leslie-ish tones....

Just curious what your thoughts are on needing both or if one will serve double duty sufficiently...

2. artdecade

artdecade Poster Extraordinaire

Nope. One is enough. If you need something to compliment one or the other, I would grab a tremolo that can do the brownface harmonic thing.

thunderbyrd and bluesholyman like this.
  3. KC

KC Friend of Leo's

oddly enough, if you turn the intensity up & the speed all the way down, the harmonic trem in a Flint will get pretty close to a vibe / phase thing.

nocastermike and thunderbyrd like this.
  4. artdecade

artdecade Poster Extraordinaire

I do more country stuff, so I prefer a phase pedal for outlaw-type stuff. If I was doing more Hendrix or psychedelic stuff, I would probably lean towards a vibe. Either one would work in a pinch, but I would choose the one that most suits whatever you play more often.

5. twangjeff

twangjeff Tele-Afflicted

It also depends how many stages of phase you are using. For instance, a Phase 45 will get really close to a Uni Vibe sound.

6. 1300 E Valencia

1300 E Valencia Friend of Leo's

Uni-Vibes were s'posed to be Leslie or rotary speaker simulators, complete with a foot controller for ramping up the speed. The Uni-Vibe *is* a four-stage phaser. It's just a bad one, as the warble is not a conscious design decision, but rather a happy accident. You could decrease the intensity of the Vibe effect so it sounds more like a "regular" phaser, but that kind of misses the point.