Understanding the VibroChamp's Tremolo Circuit And How It Might Be Implemented

Discussion in 'Amp Tech Center' started by separateness, Dec 12, 2019.

1. separateness

separateness TDPRI Member

Greetings. This is my first post here although this website has been for me a great resource for information for over a decade. By way of introduction I am a guitarist, tinkerer and I have a modicum of education in electronics. I come to you today seeking some understanding of the Virbro Champ's tremolo circuit and also how I might implement something like it.

I will start at the beginning. I own a Twin Reverb. It was master volume twin, 100 watts. I paid to have it blackfaced. Some time later and several years ago it was completely submerged in a flood. I pulled everything out of it and rebuilt it. When I rebuilt it I did so to basically ab763ish specs with some caveats. I only have one input, and one channel. The bright switch is an input kill. The other Bright switch enables the tremolo. There are probably some other things.

But the tremolo. When I rebuilt it I thought I would get a little adventurous and so I implemented the tremolo as an output tube bias vary type made with solid state components. I even had some tiny PCBs made for this purpose. If I did it correctly the schematic I went by should be attached to this post.. we shall see.

This is very cool in a lot of ways. It sounds great, I have a cool blinking LED on the front of my amp that tells me how fast the trem is working in case I go deaf. In some ways, however, it isn't so cool. In order for this tremolo to be effective, I have to set the bias of my amp kind of cold. It is usable and it sounds good but it isn't where I would set it if it weren't for the trem. Me being me and never being satisfied I looked around a bit and lo and behold I find the Vibro Champ's trem circuit.
    [​IMG]