1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Two instruments, one amp - how to switch?

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by NateD81, Jan 16, 2021.

  1. NateD81

    NateD81 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2019
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    I just bought a small synth for my pedal board (Modal Skulpt) and my goal is to have it on my board and be able to play it into my looper, and then play my guitar once I’ve got a loop set with the synth. Basically, a mixer with multiple inputs and a master out to the amp in theory (I’d like something more minimal thanking a honking mixer on my board). I want to be able to run the synth through pedals and be able to switch back and forth between synth and guitar without having to mess with pulling cables out of inputs. Is this making any sense? Almost like a reverse A/B box after the guitar and synth, then feeding into pedals. Is that a thing? Help appreciated!
     
  2. Collin D Plonker

    Collin D Plonker Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,474
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2020
    Location:
    Delaware
    An A/B box will.work that way.
     
  3. Bikersluggo

    Bikersluggo Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    886
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    East of Nowhere
    Yeah, it's called an A-B box. They work both ways.
     
  4. NateD81

    NateD81 Tele-Meister

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    262
    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2019
    Location:
    Ventura, CA
    Ok - I figured I was asking a stupid question — but thank you guys for your help!
     
    Mission6_OG likes this.
  5. aadvark

    aadvark Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Location:
    melbourne
    AB box
     
  6. Obsessed

    Obsessed Telefied Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    26,221
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2012
    Location:
    Montana
    Boss LS-2, the switchblade of pedalmania. I used mine to switch from rhythm guitar to lead guitar years ago. It is not intuitive, but you can probably find a configuration diagram to explain it. As I recall, it can do three instruments. A fantastic pedal for switching instruments on the fly, because of the large paddle to hit. Also, you can balance the levels beforehand too. It does a heck of a lot more as well. Cheap, dependable, gig worthy.
    IMG_4264.JPG
     
  7. Bikersluggo

    Bikersluggo Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    886
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Location:
    East of Nowhere
    I have passive Motley A/B/Y that will do it. I'm not sure if the active ones like the Tone Bone work both ways. Might need to do some research. Passive is all you need though since you wouldn't be concerned with phase.
     
  8. unbridled

    unbridled Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    837
    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Location:
    SW Mt.
    Why NOT a mixer? They aren't much bigger than some pedals I've seen, and would give you more control. IMG_20210116_214045.jpg
     
  9. tce63

    tce63 Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    1,058
    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2013
    Location:
    Sweden
    20180602111814.jpg
     
  10. Lies&Distortion

    Lies&Distortion Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,318
    Joined:
    May 27, 2014
    Location:
    SE Michigan
    LS-2.
    All kinds of options with one.
     
  11. smoothrecluse

    smoothrecluse Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

    Posts:
    717
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2020
    Location:
    Panther City, TX
    Not a stupid question! And A/B boxes are cheap and useful to have around anyway - you can use them to:
    -route one guitar to two amps or effects boards
    -switch between two guitars to one amp
    -as an off switch for one guitar
    -to switch between guitars or components to diagnose problems, like which crusty old cables still work, and which ones are garbage.

    And they’re pretty easy to make, if you just want a cheap and easy project to put together.
     
    SecretSquirrel, Pickingthru and tce63 like this.
  12. Charlie Bernstein

    Charlie Bernstein Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    9,389
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2003
    Location:
    Augusta, Maine
    An AB box, natch.

    If you're at all fussy about tone, add a pair of EQ pedals so you get the same volume and frequency range from each instrument without having to adjust your amp every time you switch.

    My acoustic rig has an ABCD box and four EQ pedals. I can switch between my flattop, mando, roundneck reso, and squareneck reso without twiddling with knobs. Heaven!

    My favorite switch maker is Loop Master. It's the Heinz ketchup of switches: The company is slow, but it's good.
     
  13. schmee

    schmee Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    13,911
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    Morley A/B box is fine. But you can plug each instrument into a different channel and just turn the volume off when not using it and have no switcher.
     
    tce63 likes this.
  14. jvin248

    jvin248 Doctor of Teleocity

    Posts:
    10,039
    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2014
    Location:
    Lions & Tigers oh Mi !
    .

    Look up the youtube channel 'Breja Toneworks' and there are two videos on switch boxes, AB and ABY. Use both and you can switch guitars with the AB plus switch/combine amps with the ABY ;)

    .
     
  15. sudogeek

    sudogeek Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    343
    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2016
    Location:
    Palm Beach FL
    JuneauMike likes this.
  16. JuneauMike

    JuneauMike Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    6,340
    Joined:
    May 5, 2015
    Location:
    Alaska
    ^ This right here. What you are describing is a perfect application for a passive A/B box.
     
  17. strat a various

    strat a various Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,116
    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    Location:
    Texas
    $20
    [​IMG]
     
  18. Willie Johnson

    Willie Johnson Tele-Holic

    Age:
    101
    Posts:
    564
    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    I've got the unbranded version of this, and one cool thing you can do is send independent chains of effects to each amp after the lines out--I don't use many anyway, but it makes each chain shorter.
     
    tce63 likes this.
  19. DeepDangler

    DeepDangler Tele-Meister

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    348
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2020
    Location:
    Mequon, WI
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.