1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Twin Reverb for a Fender SS bass amp!

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by morgansofas, Aug 25, 2016.

1. morgansofas

morgansofas Tele-Meister

I have a 1971 non-master volume Twin Reverb, beautiful condition, play great. Not even that heavy, as it has stock Utah speakers. Trouble is, I rarely use it, so I have bought a Fender Rumble 500 bass amp, as a 'cover all' amp. Did an AB test with a USA Tele.
    Result- of course the Twin sounded better! But...the bass amp wasn't bad either. I need the amp for live work which will go through a PA, when using guitar. By the time a Twin goes through a desk and PA speakers, and is mixed with band sounds, who honestly is going to be able to differentiate and really know the difference? I now have a classic looking Fender amp, with XLR out, that I can use with my 5 string bass too, and it more portable. Ha, I dare to be different! I've owned and used a lot of amps, and I love Fender hand wired amps, but come on SS users, use your amps with pride! So the Twin is advertised. I may regret it, we'll see.

2. bparnell57

bparnell57 Poster Extraordinaire

My buddy has one of these, and it's a spectacular bass amp, and pedal platform for guitar.

I personally would rather have the tube preamp based hybrid version, which looks like a classic fender head. That's just me though. It wouldn't be nearly as light of a rig once you add in a separate 2x10 cab.

ImageUploadedByTDPRI1472158757.074237.jpg

The Fender Bassman 500

3. BigDaddyLH

BigDaddyLH Tele Axpert Ad Free Member

Enjoy your new Rumble! But comparing it to a twin is apples and oranges. Bass players aren't as wedded to tubes as guitar players are.

4. morgansofas

morgansofas Tele-Meister