Tweed Deluxe tube swap; re-bias?

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by youdevil, Dec 29, 2012.

1. youdevil

youdevil TDPRI Member

Apologies in advance for what may be a stupid question, but I'm relatively new to vintage amps.

I have a nice 1959 tweed deluxe but would like to swap out the Groove Tube 6v6s it came with; I hear that RCAs sound great in this amp.

Will I have to re bias the amp? How will I know it? If something is out of whack, do I run the risk of damaging the amp or injuring myself?

Thanks.

2. mad dog

mad dog Friend of Leo's

No bias needed for power tube swap on that amp. Swap away.
    MD

3. youdevil

youdevil TDPRI Member

Thanks! Anything I should listen for, tone-wise, in comparing these two sets?

4. BobbyZ

BobbyZ Doctor of Teleocity

Tone wise. Who knows what kind of tubes the GTs are and RCA made more than one kind of 6v6 over the years.

Just try them.

5. fauxsuper

fauxsuper Tele-Afflicted

There are a lot of tubes that are likely to sound better than the Groove Tubes.

I wouldn't assume that popping a set of RCA's in your amp is automatically going to make it sound "better". If you've got a set sitting around that's another matter.

Do some reasearch and you'll find that there are not only some decent new production tubes being made, but there are also some alternatives to the RCA tubes, and they all have advantages/disadvantages. What I'm trying to say is it isn't just as simple as finding the "best" tube for your amp and that's it. There is no one "best" tube for your amp. Are you a blues player who'd like a nice break up at a lower volume? Are you more of a clean player who would like a little more clean headroom? Does the amp have it's original stock speaker? What are the pre-amp tubes in the amp? Do you play in a band and need to cut through a dense mix?

You'll probably get a dozen opinions on the page along as to what the best tube is if you were to ask that question.