1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

"Tweed deluxe 5e3 custom vintage pine"-- Reverb.com

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by eighteyedspy, Oct 16, 2016.

1. eighteyedspy

eighteyedspy TDPRI Member

Saw this on reverb.com from a relatively unknown builder. Pretty nice looking, but I'm no expert. When I look at the gut shots, they look good to me, but I have no technical knowledge of how the insides of an amp should look like. Can anyone look these photos over and give me their opinion of if I should take the plunge? If you read the description, he uses carbon comp resistors, Sprague and Mojo caps, Switchcraft jacks, CTS pots, solid core cloth covered wire, US-made chassis, JJ and EH tubes, Heyboer transformers, and a Weber Ceramic 1230 30 watt speaker (like a Celestion G12H-30). He wrote me that it works fine, it sounds like it should. I'm planning on a Clark Beaufort Premium or either a Crema Wheat (w/ Scumback J75) or a Cortez from Tungsten. This amp can be had for half the price or less than any of of those three. What do you think?

Attached Files:

2. Ringo

Ringo Poster Extraordinaire

It looks really good, if you're planning on keeping the amp it seems that it would be a good value, I don't think the resale would be very good because he is a low volume amp builder.

3. robrob

robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member

It looks like a solid build.

cboutilier likes this.
  4. clintj

clintj Friend of Leo's