Tutorial: Making a spaghetti headstock decal in Gimp

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by moosie, Jun 6, 2020.

1. moosie

moosie Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

I just finished (as in painted) my first neck, which was from last year's build. I hadn't decided whether to use a custom decal, or a Fender replacement spaghetti logo. The latter is obviously controversial, but it's for personal use, etc. It's not just a brand name, it's a feature of the Telecaster. Like you wouldn't build a VW bug replica and leave off the curved roof.

Anyway, I guess I had some hesitation about using it, because I started messing around in Gimp to see if I could make my own. Here's what I came up with. It was better than I expected, so I wound up using it.

Untitled.png

I made sure it had a transparent background, and printed to some waterslide decal paper I got on Amazon.

I'm no graphics expert, and I think there are cleaner ways, but this is what worked for me:

First, download and install the free Strato font. There are a couple fonts in that family. Use the 'linked-text' one, which is the familiar Fender pseudo-cursive lettering.

Also, download Gimp and install, if you don't have it.

File / New to create an image. Default size is fine, we'll crop later.

Overview: Create black letters. Select the region inside the edge of the letters, leaving a small edge band all the way around. This will be the outline. Then fill the main area of the letters with gold, or the main logo color. Crop to size, remove the background, place on the paper, and print.

It's better to make the logo larger than you need, and scale it down (we'll do this in Gimp). If you do the opposite, needing to scale UP, the lines will be poor resolution, and jerky looking.

Steps:

– Set foreground color to black (this will be the outline).

01 Color.png

– Use the Text tool (Tools / Text). Set font size to 100 px. Type your custom logo name.

02 Text.png