Turning A Fender Hot Rod Deluxe Into An ODS - HRD2ODS

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by MasterEvan07, Mar 31, 2020.

1. MasterEvan07

MasterEvan07 Tele-Meister

The first amp I ever bought, and subsequently the first amp I ever tried modifying, was a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe - I forget which iteration - many years ago.

I've began trying new gear, upgrades, tweaks, mods, etc. pretty much right away after I started learning to play guitar, so when I discovered there were "kits" for the HRD I grew curious.

Let's just say having a good soldering iron and knowing how to properly solder are critical elements when trying to modify a very low quality, flimsy PCB like those found in such amps - amps given to critical failure issues and myriad PCB problems.

Enter the Fromel Supreme Mod Kit! ...and my utter ruination of the OD channel among other things after blundering through trying to alter components I'd not enough foundational knowledge or skill to tackle or sort should mistakes be made. And they were...

Sold the amp to my brother for nothing because he only needed the still functional clean channel but the mistakes and half-functional amp have galled me for years.

Lo and behold, Lou Rossi and Monkeymatic Amps (Aaron Lyon) came up with a solution: a drop-in replacement PCB for building into the husk of HRDs or HRDVs! An ODS circuit replacement. I just finished the rebuild/remake and have finally redeemed this amp and my sullied amp modding history.

TL : DR - Broke a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe years ago trying to mod it. Completely rebuilt it into an ODS circuit.

HRD2ODS:

The abused -
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

The new kid in town:
    [​IMG]

Utteryly gutted...er, except the iron...:
    [​IMG]

Oh good, it fits:
    [​IMG]

Time to populate:
    [​IMG]

Well this is a bloody problem...:
    [​IMG]

A little careful drilling and a sliced finger later:
    [​IMG]

New pots, switches, jacks, oh my!
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]