1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Turning a Champ into a Champ Micro

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by Goudacris, Jan 24, 2021.

1. Goudacris

Goudacris TDPRI Member

Hey all,

I've been working on transforming my first project (5f1) into a Champ Micro (https://robrobinette.com/Champ_Micro.htm).

The first build was so poorly wired that I wanted to pull it apart for a rewire, and while reading up to try and be sure I did a better job, I became interested in the Micro, mostly for volume purposes.

The rub: I'm determined to build in the 5f1 chassis, and the 270AX I bought does not drop in (I was under the impression it would, but now I'm not sure how I figured that...)

Anyway, I'm very new to the this, so I may need you to talk down to me.

Currently I'm wondering: Can I use a 290AX for this build? If I do, would I use the red/wht 275v HT and the green 6.3VCT with the green/yellow CT?

More info: I plan on using the 5y3 rectifier, and 2 12AX7s while I wait for my 12AU7 in the mail. My OT is a 1750A, and I didn't plan on wiring the boost or NF switches or the headphone jack. And the 470K resistor that's on the board, I was planning to just stick on a hookup and heat shrink tube to cover it.

I'd love feedback! Thanks!

The future: When buying supplementary parts for this build, I also bought most of what I need for a BF PR that I'm planning for next. The 290AX would be great for that, so if anyone has a suggestion for mounting this 270AX in the 5f1 chassis with some kind of adapter, or just having it be ugly mounted with new holes and a big gap, I'm all for it. It's going to be in a cab behind a panel anyway... But the cleaner the better! Thanks!

290AX spec from hammond:
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

guitarmikey likes this.
  2. dan40

dan40 Friend of Leo's