Tuning Machine Frustration

Discussion in 'Squier Tele Forum' started by SuprHtr, Mar 13, 2019.

  1. SuprHtr

    SuprHtr Tele-Meister

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Location:
    Rocket City
    My new FSR Affinity Telecaster has the worst tuning machines I've ever encountered. I know the tuner upgrade topic has been beaten to death here, as I've gotten many hits in several hours of searching. What I'm finding is that a quality, name-brand, true drop-in replacement for Squier is hard to find. Oh, and they have to be black! I don't mind having to drill two new pin holes, my simplest option, which is what I'll do. The Darrell Braun youtube channel has a video where he installs GraphTech machines in a Squier, with no drilling, but he doesn't provide a part number! He also states that HipShot makes a direct replacement (which I'm sure costs half as much), but again, no part number, and my searches have yielded no hits.

    I'm mostly just venting here. I've got HipShot Fender replacements ordered. I probably missed the thread that tells me exactly what I'm looking for, but I'm tired. You would think that the on-line vendors of the major brands would give better descriptions of fitments for something as ubiquitous as a Squier.
     
  2. Treadplatedual

    Treadplatedual Tele-Holic

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    695
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    jackinjax and Bruxist like this.
  3. SuprHtr

    SuprHtr Tele-Meister

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Location:
    Rocket City
    Ah, now I see I missed the locking plate part. As soon as I saw screw holes, I passed, since I had no desire to add screws. No good logical reason for avoiding the screws, just preferred to keep the headstock a little cleaner looking. Oh well... I got these. HIP-6FL00B_A-1500__57270.1523193573.560.560.jpg
     
  4. Treadplatedual

    Treadplatedual Tele-Holic

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    695
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2018
    Location:
    Indianapolis, IN
    Those will work fine, but keep in mind you may have 2 little nubs to drill holes for on each, and lining them all up may be tough.
     
    SuprHtr likes this.
  5. hippychip

    hippychip Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    146
    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Location:
    Florida
    I have been using these for several years, and they are excellent.

    [​IMG]

    I have them on several guitars including this Partscaster.

    [​IMG]
     
  6. gip111

    gip111 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    May I ask what makes you feel the tuning machines are that bad? From my experience what I thought were bad tuners turned out to be a combination of mediocre tuning machines and a really a bad nut.
     
    noah330 likes this.
  7. schmee

    schmee Poster Extraordinaire

    Posts:
    7,884
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    northwest
    I tend to agree, but believe it's seldom even cheap tuners at fault. Today's cheap tuners are all better machines than pre 50's tuners on Gibsons or any other...
    Today's case in point is: I have this cheap Tele type I love, but every time I pick it up, the G string is out of tune. So I bought Grovers and installed them last week just because I like the guitar and wanted to upgrade . (even though I know better... it's almost never the tuners) Guess what? I picked the guitar up this am.. G string out of tune! The nut has been tweeked, etc. It's like a poldergeist!
     
  8. archetype

    archetype Fiend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,512
    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2005
    Location:
    Williamsville NY
    Someone does makes an inexpensive, drill jig for drilling those locator pin holes. I imagine one could clamp a straight edge to the headstock and drill all the holes in true parallel to the straight edge, at least that's how I'd approch getting them all to line up.
     
    SuprHtr likes this.
  9. Ian T

    Ian T Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    765
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Location:
    Tampa Bay
    Perhaps consider putting nice tuners on your Affinity tele akin to putting a nice set of wheels or set of headers on a Toyota Tercel. What's next, some boutique pickups and a Glendale bridge? That is a cheap guitar with cheap parts that nonetheless plays fine as is. It will always have a cheap poly finish that screams cheap guitar, a Squier logo and a Made in Indonesia marking to remind you of what it is. There are no amount of parts that will turn that Tercel into a Camaro.

    Perhaps don't install the tuners, and start saving parts for a nice parts tele build. I like MJT bodies, Warmoth necks, Rutters hardware, though there are many other options.

    The tuning issues are guaranteed not tuners slipping. They are friction at the nut, string tree, saddles. Try some nut lube, buy some nut files instead of new tuners, sort it out.
     
  10. noah330

    noah330 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,104
    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Location:
    Maryland
    How do you string the tuners? Usually that's the problem.
     
  11. SuprHtr

    SuprHtr Tele-Meister

    Age:
    63
    Posts:
    267
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    Location:
    Rocket City
    It's not that they don't hold tune. And the guitar so new that I haven't re-strung it. They feel spongy. They are fiddly to adjust compared to my ASAT. You turn a little more, a little more, and then they jump. And there's lots of backlash. I can conceive that it could be strings grabbing in the nut and may find that's part of it when I install the new tuners. And actually, I'm very happy with the rest of the guitar, especially for the price.
     
    gip111 likes this.
  12. gip111

    gip111 TDPRI Member

    Age:
    65
    Posts:
    43
    Joined:
    May 5, 2016
    Location:
    New Jersey USA
    To me, that all sounds like the strings are binding in the nut slot. Try running some extra fine sand paper thru the slots and lube or shave some pencil graphite into the slots to see what happens.
     
    Skip D and SuprHtr like this.
  13. LutherBurger

    LutherBurger Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,140
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
    Have you tried adjusting the screws that hold the tuner buttons on? They may need to be tightened a bit.
     
    SuprHtr likes this.
  14. Erwin

    Erwin Tele-Meister

    Posts:
    154
    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Location:
    Affligem Belgium
    Remember this pearl of wisdom: It's almost never the tuners.
    First thing to do with a new guitar is to restring it and stretch the strings well. Check the nut slots, and the string trees, have it set up by a lutier. That should solve most of the problems. About the only reason to change the tuners is when you want locking tuners or a different gear ratio or a different colour.
     
  15. fender4life

    fender4life Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    3,281
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Location:
    los angeles
    Definitely.
     
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.