Tuning issues - Tele with Bigsby B5

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by Rick-kcmo, Sep 11, 2019 at 11:44 PM.

1. Rick-kcmo

Rick-kcmo TDPRI Member

This is one I finished and assembled. Graphite nut, staggered Gotoh vintage style tuners (no string tree) USA Bigsby, Callahm 3 saddle vintage style bridge (half size to accommodate humbuckers), Callaham roller bar.

I know Bigsby's can be a tuning challenge and I love them on archtops that don't require a roller bar but have used this one on other guitars without this issue. Every time I use it, i go flat on several strings, G being the worst. I don't do dive bombs, I'm subtle with it, mostly for chords, and I don't understand why it goes flat, sometimes a half step. If I really hit it hard, just to see, all the strings go. I can do it ten times in a row and have to tune back up each time. I can lift up slightly on the handle and it comes back close. This is my first time with a Tele and I'm wondering about the saddles but the constantly going flat is like I'm actually losing string tension. Probably something stupid on my part but thoughts? Thanks

2. CalebAaron666

CalebAaron666 Tele-Meister

The NUT!
    Almost always the nut, especially if it’s going flat. For starters you can try lubing the nut with some nut-sauce or pencil graphite.
    You can also carefully file the slots open a bit more.

What gauge strings do you use?
    With a bigsby you never wanna go smaller than 10’s.
    Good luck!

3. EsquireBoy

EsquireBoy Tele-Meister

I would say look at the nut first too.
    I see you have a graphite nut, so no need to over lube it I think, but the slots may be too narrow and pinching the strings.
    You can try bending the strings behind the nut (to take the bigsby out of the equation): if it goes sharp, then you have the culprit, the nut is holding the strings.

CalebAaron666 likes this.
  4. dogmeat

dogmeat Tele-Afflicted

and some StewMac guitar grease

5. Rick-kcmo

Rick-kcmo TDPRI Member