Tuner pedal recommendations

Discussion in 'The Stomp Box' started by horseman308, Nov 17, 2019.

1. horseman308

horseman308 Tele-Holic

I need a new tuner pedal. I've been using a Kliq for about 2 years and am getting really tired of how slow it is. But the one thing I really like about it is being able to drop the displayed note by half-step increments. We play a half-step down, but I use open E and G in addition to standard. It's nice not to have to remember all the different tuning values down a half-step in between songs, changing guitars etc.

I'm looking at a TC Polytune, a Korg Pitchblack, and a T Rex Tunemaster. However, I can't seem to find any that clearly have that transposing option. I'd prefer a more compact design than Boss. Any suggestions or other considerations?

Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk

Greggorios likes this.
  2. Old Deaf Roadie

Old Deaf Roadie Tele-Holic

I personally use a clip-on, but mix a bunch of bands. What I am seeing on pedalboards is 90% even mixture between the Polytune & Boss pedals. The other 10% is a mix of Beringer & cheap imports. My personal experience with both stomp box & rack gear is that both TC & Boss products are generally good products to buy, and easy to sell if you go another direction.

nojazzhere and Greggorios like this.
  3. dswo

dswo Tele-Meister

4. '64 Tele

'64 Tele Tele-Holic

https://www.sweetwater.com/store/de...polyphonic-led-guitar-tuner-pedal-with-buffer
    This is the best one I've found. I was having problems with my tone sounding dull with signal going thru about 6 "true bypass" pedals.
    I replaced my Korg Pitchblack tuner with this.....it was immediately like a blanket was lifted off my amp.
    The buffer fixed the problem and this tuner (visually) is the easiest one I've ever used to see, and it's very steady, not jumping around.

5. heltershelton

heltershelton Tele-Afflicted