Tube amp and mutli fx unit

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by Cloodie, May 22, 2020.

  1. Cloodie

    Cloodie TDPRI Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    61
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2019
    Location:
    UK
    I'm eventually going to upgrade to a Tone King Gremlin amp. Up till now I've just being using digital and solid state amps with built in effects although I did buy a Boss Me 80 muti-effects unit many years ago and barely used it. Given I'll be looking for some reverb and possibly some sort of drive pedal when I get around to buying the amp would it be considered sacrilege to use a mutli effects unit on such a, to my ears, great amp? Will individual pedals sound a good bit better?
     
  2. Mad Kiwi

    Mad Kiwi Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,758
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Location:
    Land of the Long White Cloud
    Nope, I think it makes practical sense.

    I gigged and jammed for a longtime with a Digitech RP350, 500 and 1000 in to tjhe front of my amps. AC30, Class 5 etc.

    Now I use a Helix LT in to AC30, Origin 20, AC4TV-12. Purely as a pedal board with the amp modelling for recording and headphone practice.

    I HATE pedal power supplies, short leads etc. and all the mess involved and batteries for pedals is a pain so MFX for me.
     
    mfguitar and Cloodie like this.
  3. AAT65

    AAT65 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    4,266
    Joined:
    May 29, 2016
    Location:
    West Lothian, Scotland
    Why ever not?? I have a Zoom MS-100BT in front of my AC15C1 (Normal channel) for when I want chorus or extra distortion (Rat simulation) or occasionally some other weird and whacky patch. Most of the time I either play clean with just a bit of compression or direct guitar to Top Boost channel but having a multi-fx gives me plenty more options when I want them.
     
    Cloodie likes this.
  4. Peegoo

    Peegoo Friend of Leo's

    Age:
    60
    Posts:
    2,265
    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2019
    Location:
    USA
    At home and for small jams I use a Tech 21 Fly Rig into a homebrew 5F1 Twin Champ. It's a 2 x 8" in a 1 x 12" cab size. Sounds fantastic at low volumes, and can get window-rattling loud. This:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. MuddyWolf

    MuddyWolf Tele-Meister

    Age:
    57
    Posts:
    332
    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Location:
    Paradise, Ca
    Sacrilege would be getting a 60s or 70s tube amp and cutting it up to put a fx loop in it. Or any other major mod.

    What you're talking about is no biggie.
     
    Cloodie likes this.
  6. kLyon

    kLyon Tele-Holic Gold Supporter

    Posts:
    556
    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Location:
    US
    Muliteffects units, if used carefully, can be great. And pragmatic solutions to problem. Vintage amp? No problem. I've toured for years with a vintage Deluxe Reverb and an AC15 and a zoom G5n (before that G3x, before that Boss ME 50 and ME 70). In town I use the same through a Tone King Imperial. It sounds great. And I don't have to worry about weight, those cables you're talking about, etc...

    On the other hand, individual pedals are really cool...) If this strange time ever ends I might go that route for gigs here in LA...
     
    Cloodie likes this.
  7. Jakedog

    Jakedog Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Posts:
    17,975
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2003
    Location:
    The North Coast
    There’s nothing sacrilegious about making your gear work the best way it can for you.


    OP- do whatever works. If it makes you happy, it’s all good.
     
    Frodebro and Cloodie like this.
  8. rickthescot

    rickthescot Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    951
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Location:
    Texas
    I don't do dirt pedals so my Zoom G3 goes in the effects loop of my 6505+ for time based effects and the noise gate in case I use crunch or the lead channel. Works great and is a breeze to use.
     
    Cloodie likes this.
  9. Frodebro

    Frodebro Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    15,736
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Seattle
    I've been running tube amps along with digital effects for years. Best of both worlds.
     
    Jakedog and Cloodie like this.
  10. mfguitar

    mfguitar Tele-Afflicted

    Age:
    59
    Posts:
    1,157
    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Location:
    Buffalo
    I recently switched back to tube amps after probably 20 years of SS. I use a Boss multi in front of a custom built tube amp and I love it. Our other guitar player prefers individual pedals and has a great sound as well, to each their own. I just really dig the simplicity.
     
    Cloodie likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.