Trussrod change

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by jarpat, Aug 14, 2019.

1. jarpat

jarpat Tele-Meister

I bought a pile of junk and there was one strat neck with fender logo and so on. It has a truss rod "coming out " on the body side, not on the headstock. I don't know for sure, if it is really a Fender. The decal is black and trussrod adjustment down there, so if it is Fender, what year could it approximately be? I dont have better photos now, but I can add them later.

The trussrod has been ruined as well as some of the neck heel. Has anyone changed trussrods? Is it possible? Any good advices before I start..?
    upload_2019-8-14_7-40-44.png

jimytheassassin likes this.
  2. jarpat

jarpat Tele-Meister

Found this one:

3. boredguy6060

boredguy6060 Friend of Leo's

Fender used a heel adjust truss rod for years.
    I’m not an expert on which years and models and so forth, but it’s not at all uncommon.
    You should post pics of that neck, many pics in focus, there are people around here that can tell you every little detail about it. You may have a real keeper.
    Good luck,

DonM and awasson like this.
  4. jarpat

jarpat Tele-Meister

The poor neck is in a bad shape.. let's put it this way - is there any known "strat copies" with truss rod heel adjustment?

5. beagle

beagle Friend of Leo's

Yes. Lots of them.

nojazzhere likes this.
  6. netgear69

netgear69 Tele-Afflicted

If it is a genuine Fender it will have a single action truss rod there will be a small bar about 15mm at the headstock end at the center of the 1st fret
    this small bar is either welded or peened to the rod the chances of that ever breaking is pretty remote but it has happened
    if the truss rod in that neck is just spinning then yeah the bar has come lose of the rod
    fixing such a truss rod will require removing the fingerboard or at least a section of the 1st fret