Truss Rod at the Heel

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by golfnut, Oct 6, 2019.

1. golfnut

golfnut Friend of Leo's

I'm just wondering why so many hate the truss rod adjustment at the heel on a Telecaster? I've got a tool that a buddy gave me that adjusts at the heel with out taking the neck off. It works great. I do have to take the pick guard off but that only takes me a couple minutes. I'm sure most have seen this tool and its very cheap.
    So do players just hate taking the pickguard off?

Attached Files:

joey pinter and bender66 like this.
  2. modavis99

modavis99 TDPRI Member

I have that tool too, it’s great. I’m not sure everyone is aware of it.

3. golfnut

golfnut Friend of Leo's

I learn so much from this forum. I would find it hard to believe that this tool would not be something celebrated by all vintage owners and vintage reissue owners. But then again I've been playing for 38 years and primarily vintage reissue type teles for almost 20 years and I never heard of it till a buddy of mine gave it to me for my birthday a few years ago. And he is far less knowledgeable with gear than me.

4. bender66

bender66 Poster Extraordinaire

I love the look of the plug or clean headstock & never thought it was an issue. People just wanna hate on minor inconveniences.

Telebeestar, dan40 and Chunkocaster like this.
  5. Pixie-Bob

Pixie-Bob Tele-Meister

In part, it has to do with the fact that Fender themsleves realised that it was a stupid thing to do and therefore in later designs - stopped doing it.

6. Chunkocaster

Chunkocaster Poster Extraordinaire

I prefer the adjustment at the heel, I like the vintage look and removing the neck is not an issue since I know how to work a screwdriver.
    It's only a mild inconvenience when first installing and setting up a new neck.