TruOil over French Polish/rubbed on shellac

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by PingGuo, Sep 1, 2018.

1. PingGuo

PingGuo Tele-Holic Silver Supporter

anyone doing this and oiling their cloth as is normal for French polish?

Will adding olive oil or mineral oil to my French polish wad prevent the TruOil from bonding?

So far the only thing I know is that I must use 100% dewaxed shellac.

2. PingGuo

Here’s where I’m at so far... but I’m getting to the point where the pad isn’t as smooth over the surface as I’d like.

Mixol oxide white in the shellac... BC3DEDD2-2C07-41D3-9563-DB69C6031909.jpeg D7250B1A-9A1A-432B-B0F5-FB891175610F.jpeg

3. RLee77

RLee77 Friend of Leo's

I always thought one of the main advantages of truOil was the oil seeping into the grain and enhancing it... it seems to me that wouldn’t happen if you put it on top of shellac. But I have no experience with that so just guessing.

I’d be inclined to reverse that and use truOil under shellac... but again, same disclaimer, my finishing experience is limited.

4. Chunkocaster

Chunkocaster Poster Extraordinaire

I only use tru oil by itself or with a tint. I don't see the point in mixing different finishes unless you are trying to refinish over something pre existing. If the existing finish is dry and stable it should be ok to go over with tru oil. I dyed a rosewood fingerboard with a ebony wood paint pen, let it dry a week and finished over that with tru oil to lock it in and it seems to be holding up. It drastically changes final dry time though.
    Using tru oil I just apply around 20 coats lightly level sanding after every 4, level sand the last coat with grades of micro mesh and if needed apply one or two more coats before polishing to a high gloss. I have seen people use olive oil but that was as a lubricant for wet sanding.

Last edited: Sep 1, 2018
    Toadtele likes this.
  5. brucerbc

brucerbc TDPRI Member