True Oil over Nitro on Road Worn Neck

Discussion in 'Finely Finished' started by mrbdxmpl, Apr 1, 2020.

1. mrbdxmpl

mrbdxmpl Tele-Meister

Hello all - using the opportunity of "working at home" to get started on some projects that have been sitting around a while. I picked up this Road Worn neck here on the classifieds - I'm not sure if the previous owner took the finish down even further, but it seems to have more extensive wear on the back than others I have seen, and feels like it is pretty much bare wood.

I have zero experience with wood finishes, but I do have a bottle of True Oil and some old t-shirts - can I apply a few thin coats to the back and bring it up somewhere closer to the "finished" sections of the back of the neck? Or will this just make a mess of things as it interacts with the nitro? I am concerned that the bare wood area will end up greasy and dirty and funky.

When this gets finished, I've got a set of Onamac McCawber pups - so the finished project will be something like Malcolm, although more of a wink and a nod than a proper copy.

Thanks in advance for the advice from all the pros here!
    Toby neck 1.jpg neck 2.jpg

2. stefanhotrod

stefanhotrod Tele-Holic

You mustn‘t use Truoil over (pre-) lacquered surfaces, it‘s simply wrong since Truoil is a varnish. You can slightly oil the sanded areas with boiled linseed oil.

3. mrbdxmpl

mrbdxmpl Tele-Meister

wrong morally? philosophically? or because it will interact badly with the nitro finish?

4. dogmeat

dogmeat Tele-Afflicted