Troubleshooting humming after pickup install

Discussion in 'Tele-Technical' started by AmnesiacBear, Sep 6, 2019.

1. AmnesiacBear

AmnesiacBear TDPRI Member

Hey all,

I've got a ~2010 MIM Tele. I came back to playing electric after years of hardly touching it, and decided to try installing some fresh pups, despite my lack of electronics experience. The stock ones were noisy and didn't sound great to my (admittedly inexperienced) ears, and I wanted a project to tinker with. So I grabbed a Fender Vintage Noiseless tele set and went to work.

Since I've installed them, I'm loving the tone except for one critical issue: there's a pretty loud hum on the bridge pickup only, even clean without distortion/OD. The humming gets louder when I touch any string or the bridge plate, and the humming basically stops completely when I touch any of the control knobs or the control plate itself.

I'm a complete beginner when it comes to electronics, so I'm not sure how to figure out where I went wrong here. Is it possible the potentiometer is bad? Maybe I didn't solder something cleanly enough? I wanted to see if maybe these symptoms sounded familiar to anyone here before I went in and started ripping things out, resoldering, or replacing anything.

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

2. Matthias

Matthias Tele-Afflicted

General point first... Noiseless pickups still have some hum... And they don’t remove the hum from the rest of the wiring.

To get the most from noiseless pickups, shield all your cavities with conductive aluminium or copper tape (with a conductive adhesive), and ensure those cavities are all grounded. If you already have shielding paint in there, which not all MiM models have but some do, check it’s all grounded and doing the tape doesn’t hurt if you want to try it. It can have a minimal effect on tone due to capacitance, but I’ve shielded several and not noticed anything. You can even put shielding on the pickguard and make sure that connects to the rest.