Troubleshooting Help? TR-2 Noisy After Mod

Discussion in 'Burnt Fingers DIY Effects' started by Flatfoot, Jan 15, 2014.

1. Flatfoot

Flatfoot Tele-Meister

Last night I completed the Boss Tr-2 Tremolo pedal mod from Monte Allums, minus the flashing LED part of the mod (though I did replace the stock LED and resistor with a white LED). I have done four of Monte's mods prior on various Boss dirt boxes with great results, so I am not a rank novice.

The pedal sounds great - much clearer and better overall - but when I put it back on my pedal board I noticed that I can here a faint "oscillating noise", the tempo of which is tied to the rate knob setting, even when the pedal is in bypass. If the noise was present with the pedal in its stock form, I had never noticed it. If I turn up the gain on one of my dirt boxes that preceed the TR-2 in the signal chain it becomes very pronounced. The TR-2 is a current production model - I just got it new a month ago. I have eight pedals on my board currently and I am powering them with a One Spot.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

2. Flatfoot

Flatfoot Tele-Meister

OK. I have determined that it is one of my pedals in particular that doesn't want to play well with the TR-2 - my DS-1 that has had Monte's Roxx Tri-Gain mod. I can use the two together and you don't hear anything troublesome because of the obvious masking, but if I turn the DS-1 on while the TR-2 is in bypass I can hear the cyclic clicking. It isn't too loud as long as the DS-1's Distortion knob is kept below 2-3 O'clock - at 4-5 O'Clock it becomes pretty pronounced.

Let me follow up with this question....Is it likely/possible that a better conditioned power source, i.e. Voodoo Labs, MXR Brick, etc. or even the actual Boss supply would get rid of this problem?

3. limbe

limbe Tele-Afflicted

I would try the pedals with batteries before I bought anything.

4. suave eddie

suave eddie Tele-Afflicted

I'm going to watch this thread closely.