Training fingers to stay close to fretboard?

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by mrcrappypantson, Sep 5, 2008.

1. mrcrappypantson

mrcrappypantson Tele-Meister

Hey guys. I searched but could find anything real useful. Is there a specific exercise I can use to keep my darn fingers closer to the fretboard? It's pretty much just my pinky that flies up and around. I've been playing for 15 years and have only just recently started to work on my technique and theory. Is it too late for me?!?! I've been squeezing one of those grip-master things but I'm not sure if it's doing anything. Any help would be much appreciated. Thanks!

2. mrcrappypantson

3. klasaine

klasaine Poster Extraordinaire

My legit teacher in college had me play right into a wall. Close enough that my knuckles could touch it. Worked well actually.

4. Hucklebilly

Hucklebilly Tele-Holic

My 2 cents...

I've been working A LOT lately on relaxation and economy of motion. I've found the materials below very helpful in this regard:

http://www.guitarprinciples.com/

I've really had to retrain myself and break many old habits. Here's an exercise you might try (from a book listed on the website above):

Rest your fingers 1-4 on the low E string, frets 3-6. Your fingers should just barely touch the string. Don't let them come off the string, or press the string down toward the fretboard. Now take your first finger and move it down to the 5th string 3rd fret. Rest it gently on the string without pressing it down. Do not let any of your other fingers tense up, rise off the strings of press them down. Now let the weight of your arm go through your first finger, gently pressing the 5th string down to the fretboard without tensing any other finger or raising or lower them. Repeat the process with fingers 2-4. Now try it again but move your fingers down to the D string.