TOLEX GLUE/ADHESIVE

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Rockbreaker, Dec 18, 2019.

1. Rockbreaker

Rockbreaker Tele-Holic

So I'm trying to re-cover my 60's Ampeg Gemini II with original repro blue diamond tolex, not only is it the most expensive type at $37.50 a foot but it's also not as easy to find. My question is: does anyone here have the expertise/ knowledge on the type of adhesive to use to get the best result. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Ed

2. Peegoo

Peegoo Tele-Holic

Water-based contact cement. I like the Dap/Weldwood brand. Pay no attention to naysayers; they got bad results because they either used it on cold materials in temperatures less than 70F, or they didn't give it enough time to tack up before bonding...or both. I've been using this for more than 10 years and I always get good results because I follow the directions.

Brush it onto the cab and the back of the Tolex, let it tack up per the directions, and carefully lay it on and press into place. You get only one shot, so take care here. I like to work on a large flat surface and 'roll' the cabinet onto the cemented fabric, rather than lift the fabric and apply it to the cab. A wallpaper seam roller is a great tool to have; roll it all over the applied Tolex to ensure a complete bond with the wood.

Solvent-based contact cement works the same way, but you have to take extreme measures to not pull the fabric as you stick it down; the solvent softens the vinyl when it's wet. Over time as the solvent evaporates, the Tolex shrinks and seams can open up. The water-based stuff works just as well, but it doesn't soften the vinyl and and it won't dissolve foam brushes.

Since you've never done this before, please watch as many how-to vids as you have time for before you get out the scissors and razor blade. It will pay off in a better result.

Skydog1010, dswo and Vibrolux59 like this.
  3. Ess Eff

Ess Eff Tele-Meister