To effects loop, or not to effects loop . . .

Discussion in 'Glowing Bottle Tube Amp Forum' started by TeleBrew, Apr 4, 2018.

  1. TeleBrew

    TeleBrew Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    10,795
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Evergreen, Colorado
    So who has an effects loop on their amp? Do you use it? Why?

    Do you not use it? Why?

    I might have an issue with the loop on my Hot Rod Deville 2x12. The other night at band practice everything was fine for the first couple of hours, and then the volume pretty much cut in half. The tone was identical, no weird noises or popping, just a big drop. I did some research and of course it could be one of half a dozen things, and I'll figure that out, but I'm just curious how necessary the effects loop is, or if most people just go, "meh," and skip it.
     
  2. stratoman1

    stratoman1 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,217
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, Va
    They're great for your time based and modulation effects
     
  3. jaybones

    jaybones Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,158
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2014
    Location:
    Kelleys Island, Ohio
    Bugera V5 Infinium has no FX loop.

    Any stomp boxes I put right into it.
     
  4. TeleBrew

    TeleBrew Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    10,795
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Evergreen, Colorado
    I have heard that, as well. What's your experience been like? Have you noticed a real difference between putting them in the loop versus leaving them out? Thanks.
     
  5. Televised

    Televised Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,283
    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    I run my Reverb, Chorus, and Delay through the Effects loop and it is less muddy on all fronts. The whole amp is also not as noisy with less hum etc.
     
    stratoman1 and TeleBrew like this.
  6. stratoman1

    stratoman1 Friend of Leo's

    Posts:
    2,217
    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2016
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, Va
    It helps keep your sound from getting all mushy
     
    TeleBrew likes this.
  7. DrGnosis

    DrGnosis TDPRI Member

    Posts:
    48
    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2017
    Location:
    Reading, MA
    I rarely use effects other than overdrive here and there; however, and perhaps someone could correct me, but I might be concerned about a negative influence on sound quality from a long cable run if you were to want some of the pedals from your pedal board through the effects loop -- depending on how far away from your amp you typically are.
     
  8. Mike_LA

    Mike_LA Tele-Afflicted

    Posts:
    1,208
    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Just past 11 on the Dial
    I use a looper pedal and find an fx loop indispensible.
     
    W.L.Weller likes this.
  9. Frodebro

    Frodebro Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Age:
    50
    Posts:
    15,276
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Seattle
    Most loops are line level, so longer cable runs are much less of an issue than with instrument level signals.
     
    DrGnosis likes this.
  10. TeleBrew

    TeleBrew Doctor of Teleocity Ad Free Member

    Age:
    47
    Posts:
    10,795
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Location:
    Evergreen, Colorado
    I ended up dropping my amp off at a tech in Denver (Colorado Forumites: Vacuum Tube Supplies is an amazing shop. And the nicest people you'll ever meet. 7th & Marisposa). I do thing there's something amiss with the effects loop.

    Anyway, is it normal for an amp to be a little noisier with effects plugged into the effects loop? My other amp, a Blues Deluxe Reissue, hums louder when my board is in the loop than it does with no effects plugged in. Thoughts?
     
  11. W.L.Weller

    W.L.Weller Tele-Holic

    Posts:
    596
    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    Location:
    Queens
    I have a Fender Power Chorus that’s got mono and stereo fx loops. Lately I’ve been putting my Digitech stereo loop pedal in the amp’s stereo loop. The level control on the pedal has a much more useable range in the amp’s loop

    The delay on my board is almost always set to self-oscillate, plus it’s not a stereo delay, so it’s better straight in. If I get a stereo in/out delay like the Alter Ego at some future date, I’ll have to re-evaluate.
     
    TeleBrew likes this.
IMPORTANT: Treat everyone here with respect, no matter how difficult!
No sex, drug, political, religion or hate discussion permitted here.


  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.