Tired of printed circuit boards and looking to build a kit

Discussion in 'Shock Brother's DIY Amps' started by 83TopLoader, Feb 8, 2015.

1. 83TopLoader

83TopLoader TDPRI Member

I've got to the point where tinkering with PCB amps is no longer amusing and I'm ready to start thinking about building a tube kit. Maybe a Marshall 18watt clone and/or a Tweed Deluxe. I see Weber, Tube Depot, Mojotone, Ceriatone, Trinity and Triode. I guess I'm looking for some advice on quality, value, tone from some of the folks who have build experience with some of the kits from different suppliers. I'm fairly new to tube amps but have worked as an electronic technician for over 20 yrs. I understand the hazards, know how to read schematics and follow directions, know how to solder, troubleshoot and use test equipment so I don't think that will be a problem. Just looking for something that will be fun to build but still provide a good tone with decent components and won't fall apart after mild use...oh yeah, I have two kids so cost is always a factor, too. lol!

Last edited: Feb 8, 2015
  2. Dennis Perusse

Dennis Perusse Tele-Meister

Here is something counter intuitive, go for it. Look at Hackworth's kits first then look at the others. If you get around to it please to a build thread too so others can see what is involved with going that route. Looking forward to hearing and seeing what you plan on doing. :)

Dennis

3. robrob

robrob Poster Extraordinaire Ad Free Member