1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

Tips On Sound Volume With Pedal

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Clouds84, Jan 18, 2021.

1. Clouds84

Clouds84 TDPRI Member

I play in a worship band at a church and I'm trying to get to grips with my pedalboard (Boss ME-80). On one of my echo sounds when I riff, the sound was sufficient to start but by the middle of the song, I was drowned out by everyone else. What I do needs to be heard over everyone else.

Just wondering if anyone has any tips when setting up presets with their pedals. We use monitors and if I increase the volume from my pedal, it will be crazy loud from the monitor.

I am new to electric guitaring so excuse me if this is a stupid question!

tah1962 likes this.
  2. Togman

Togman Tele-Afflicted Silver Supporter

Perhaps the band needs to be quieter rather than you being louder? Just a different perspective.

suthol, MrCairo46 and Jakedog like this.
  3. tah1962

tah1962 Friend of Leo's

Usually the problem with patches on those multi effect units is that the volume levels are all over the board from the manufacturer. If you have a dB meter (if not, you can download one for free from the App Store), you could go through all your patches and make sure all of them are around the same volume when you click them on.

Next, I would suggest turning the output level higher than you need on your unit, and back the volume knob off on your guitar. That way when you need another gear (chorus/bridge/solo) it’s right at the tips of your fingers. Crank the volume knob full when you need to, and back it off when you need to fall back in the mix. You will have total control using the volume knob on your guitar.

Clouds84 likes this.
  4. Fuggle

Fuggle Tele-Meister