1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

ThumbPick Technique (Help!)

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by Badabing, Jun 12, 2012.

1. Badabing

Badabing Friend of Leo's

I have been using a thumbpick for a few years now and I am just really getting used to this technique..Love it!

I have a problem when I switch from my thumbpick to my fingers...the sound level drops off noticeably(to my ears) when I pick with my fingers and then louder again when I use my thumbpick...HELP!
    :confused::confused::confused:

Any ideas from Thumbpick users out there?? I play a CV50 Squire tele (all stock)

Thanks in advance for your help!

Attached Files:

2. 1955

1955 Poster Extraordinaire

I think you'd have to lessen your attack with the Thumbpick, or get used to using the vol knob really quick when you change over. I'm no expert, but I am a finger style player.

3. Badabing

Badabing Friend of Leo's

:eek::eek::eek:

4. scrumley

scrumley Tele-Meister

Have you tried growing your fingernails out and picking with them rather than the tips of your fingers? It might take a while to adjust your technique, but it could be the answer. Either that or adjust your thumb attack.

5. weelie

weelie Friend of Leo's

I use the nail a tad, though I don't grow them out. Also, I think I attack harder with the fingers (more snapping and all that).

Also my thumbpick is the yellow speedpick. It's very light.

But I think it takes practice. Likes with most things. And I am terrible with that. I rather look for a "better" guitar. :p

6. Badabing

Badabing Friend of Leo's

so do you think it's the pickups?

7. chabby

chabby Friend of Leo's

No -it's just completely different with versus without a thumbpick.
    You just have to compensate with your volume and tone knobs because for me the thumbpck alters both.