Three way switch Fender Broadcaster 2020 not working right.

Discussion in 'Telecaster Discussion Forum' started by sugarcool6, Apr 2, 2020.

1. sugarcool6

sugarcool6 TDPRI Member

I am just learning to play on my new Fender Broadcaster 2020 and I set my switch into the third
    bridge position and it sounds muted. This was not as before when that position played just as well
    as the other two.

It creates a bit of sound when the volumeknob is turned up but still its very much muted.
    And it feels as if the switch does fine in postition one and two but then the third position is as if the switch does not feel as firm like in the two other
    positions and there is no more sound, almost no sound.

I also tried another cable but again its the same so it can't be a broken cable because it behaves like that on both cables and also on position one and two should be the same
    problem if it was a faulty cable.

What is going on? and should I complain to the company where I bought it or is this easy to fix?
    I've didn't open anything, first I want to know more.

Last edited: Apr 3, 2020
  2. Dacious

Dacious Poster Extraordinaire

Are you saying it was OK when first received but it's changed since you got it? If so - warranty.

The Broadcaster has different controls to the regular Tele. The second knob isn't a tone control - it gradually as you wind it ccw dials in the bridge.

Fender probably included instructions in the case candy to mod the wiring to modern.

SnidelyWhiplash likes this.
  3. RodeoTex

RodeoTex Doctor of Teleocity

Those are wired way different.

4. Masmus

Masmus Tele-Meister

I thought Fender was shipping these with standard wiring and included a resistor and instructions to rewire for the blend circuit. The OP also said that the sound changed from what it was before. I agree with Dacious...Warranty.

EsquireBoy, gwjensen and Fretting out like this.
  5. Clifton C

Clifton C Tele-Afflicted