Threaded brass saddles made painless

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by epizootics, Oct 8, 2019.

1. epizootics

epizootics Tele-Meister

Hey guys,

I thought this might be of some interest for y'all Telecaster people.
    I have been making my own saddles for a few years, for the sake of making every last bit I can on a guitar but also for the practical aspects of making parts that fit your custom build just right.

Anyone who attempted drilling round metal stock knows it is an absolute PITA without the proper tools (ie. a proper vee, clamps and centering bits). Being a cheapskate, I looked for a way to do it on the cheap.

The idea is to insert the rod in a template and drill it from outside. I use MDF but it might as well be made of hardwood or metal.

[​IMG]

(yes, there is a problem with this one, I'll discuss that later)

First, trace a center line parallel to one of the sides of your piece of MDF. Report that line onto the sides with a square. Mark the center of your lines on the sides. Now mark one of those centers with a center punch and drill through the whole piece. Hopefully it'll come out centered on the other side. If it doesn't...MDF is cheap :) Use something square to reference the surface of the MDF against, drill slow, use a lip-and-spur drill bit...The size of the bit should be slightly inferior to the size of your rod (but a bit bigger than the corresponding tap bit).

Now cut a piece of rod that is long enough to make all of your saddles at once + a bit extra. Place the bit of extra length in the chuck of your portable drill and gently screw it into your template. You can use beeswax for lubrication.