Thoughts on online guitar teaching at a beginner level?

Lone_Poor_Boy

Tele-Afflicted
So I'm getting my 9 year old granddaughter a mini-strat and Fender Mustang amp. I asked the grandkids what instruments they wanted and she picked guitar. The other picked drums, but that's a different story. The third already blew off piano.

I honestly don't care if she never uses it, but I wanted to make it available in case there is a spark.

To give it the best shot, I thought providing a teacher would be #1. So I'm looking for suggestions on that; online experiences, how to vet them, do's and don't's etc.

Why not me? Because I know I'm a horrible teacher in general but more specifically, I know nothing about what matters most when teaching fundamentals to build on for early growth. I would hope part of that is also keeping them inspired to play. I'd probably just teach them to play backup to me singing 'Get Off My Cloud' or something.

Thoughts on online teaching at a beginner level?

LOSTVENTURE

Friend of Leo's
I'm thinking that having an in-person experience, particularly at the beginning, would be the way to go.
Call me old fashion, but having someone right there to guide you through the basics could be the difference that a new player needs.
Once you have dealt with basic methods and how to perform the easier tasks, then you would have a better background for approaching on-line lessons.

Lone_Poor_Boy

Tele-Afflicted
I'm thinking that having an in-person experience, particularly at the beginning, would be the way to go.
Call me old fashion, but having someone right there to guide you through the basics could be the difference that a new player needs.
Once you have dealt with basic methods and how to perform the easier tasks, then you would have a better background for approaching on-line lessons.
I know and I agree. 1 or 2 hands-on meetings would be huge in the learning curve. But I'm dealing with the landscape I have in front of me. And I can do the fundamental stuff.