thoughts on Blues Junior (black)

Discussion in 'Amp Central Station' started by Outsider, Dec 4, 2019 at 9:26 PM.

1. Outsider

Outsider TDPRI Member

I recently came across a mint condition Blues Junior for sale. I negotiated the price to $250. Its a Black Blues Junior, not a BJ 2 or 3 or 4, the back just says Blues Junior. The amp has never been gigged or even taken out of the sellers house. He bought it as a practice amp and lost interest.

I'm new to the guitar world, but I love the sound of the Blues Junior from listening to YT vids. I just picked up a strat and started taking lessons for blues and blues rock.

So, I hear a lot of great reviews about the Tweed BJ and some so so reviews about the BJ 3 & 4, but I can only find a couple of vids with a regular black BJ. Do you guys have any experience with this model Blues Junior? Again im a complete beginner ( 3 lesons in) and currently have a Mustang 1 v2 and its ok but prefer the tube sound, and $250 seems like a great deal.. My other concern is Ive heard these are LOUD, and I hope it will work well as a home only amp.

2. Chiogtr4x

Chiogtr4x Poster Extraordinaire

Going on 20 years with a 1999 ( blonde) Blues Jr.- I bought it used in 2000 for $270
    We have done hundreds of R&R, Country, and Blues gigs together
    Well- maintained ( parts replaced over the years) by a good Tech.
    A fine, portable, loud, good sounding amp.
    * It doesn't have to be loud, as it has a Gain and Mastet Volume to control things, but it is not a bedroom amp.

LPTyler, BeatlesAreMyJam and Outsider like this.
  3. Outsider

Outsider TDPRI Member

I know the Tweed has a different speaker than the BJ 3 and 4... but does the Blues Junior (1) have the same speaker in both the blonde/tweed and black amps? Are there any differences other than the color?

thanks

Chiogtr4x likes this.
  4. Mike_LA

Mike_LA Tele-Afflicted

You won't Need more for years but you'll probably get another amp in a bit.