1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

The xgp strat build

Discussion in 'Stratocaster Discussion Forum' started by brokeGradStudent, Dec 4, 2020.

1. brokeGradStudent

brokeGradStudent TDPRI Member

Hi all, I've been a lurker here for over a year, but just made my account to share my experience of building my first Stratocaster. A little background, I'm in grad school (as my username suggests) and cannot afford to do a Warmoth DIY project without eating ramen like I was a freshman in undergrad. I also have a philosophy that a good guitar shouldn't have to be insanely expensive and that some non-botique parts can be high quality.

I initially started to process this build because I wanted to add a strat to my collection. I had a Squier SE for all of 2 weeks, but the trem system was beat to crap, the Gotoh tuners I bought it with had seen better days, and frankly I found someone who paid nearly 2x what I got it for and was stoked for it even with my reservations.

My first plan was to get an unfinished ash strat body and finish it myself, but renting a space with poor ventilation quickly decreased my interest in that. Instead I went with Guitar Fetish XGP for the body and neck. I read a lot of terrible reviews of what was happening, but the price was too good to ignore and a check of internet archive showed that there were some changes to the description (and maybe product recently) so I sprung on a clear gloss ash body and an amber maple neck with 22 frets. With a little hardware added, I got both for 190 shipped.