1. Win a Broadcaster or one of 3 Teles! The annual Supporting Member Giveaway is on. To enter Click Here. To see all the prizes and full details Click Here. To view the thread about the giveaway Click Here.

The Tipping Point - A question for advanced players

Discussion in 'Tab, Tips, Theory and Technique' started by matrix, Sep 25, 2020.

1. matrix

matrix Tele-Meister

For those of you who might be considered by some (if not yourself) as an advanced player, in the course of your progression, did you encounter what I am call a "tipping point"?

What I mean by a "tipping point" is a point where many different aspects of music learning and the guitar in particular all started to come together, resulting in a rapid acceleration of your ability to learn?

I have been playing guitar for almost 30 years, with varying degrees of seriousness (but the same general lack of obvious talent for it). In the last five, thanks in part to the proliferation of high quality online learning material, I think I have advanced quite a bit more rapidly. And in the last few months, it feels like this (imaginary?) "tipping point" is starting to happen. It seems like I can learn phrases, licks and songs much, much more rapidly. Instructional material that might have taken me months to crawl through I can watch and internalize in weeks. New musical information (like a new lick) seems to drop into an existing framework, or be a seem more like a slight variation on something that at some level I already know, and thus much easier to learn, retain, and incorporate.

Does this sound familiar to any of you? I am not saying that I am now a great player - there are all sorts of major areas of weakness that I am working on (and others that I am probably not even aware of). But it seems like in very short order, the whole process suddenly became a lot easier, and a level of musicianship that previously seemed unattainable could be in striking distance if I keep up the work.