The state of stomp boxes today

Zenyatta

TDPRI Member
Just a quick observation, as someone who was really active playing guitar up until about 5 years ago, and someone who was really active in buying new pedals up until about 10 years ago.

I remember when I started playing guitar in the late 90s, $30 couldn't get you anything decent. Maybe, if you're lucky, a used SoundTank that would break in a month. Even the Danelectro pedals back then were $60-$80 (the big metal ones that looked cool but in retrospect didn't sound nearly as cool as they looked). Lots of Boss, Ibanez, Dod, Korg, Russian-built EHX and other pedals, pumping out mostly decent but not terribly exciting stomp boxes, most costing $100 or more. The budget pedals tended to disintegrate pretty quickly and didn't sound that great. Remember Snarling Dogs?

In the mid to late 00's we seemed to have the boutique pedal craze, with tons of builders and modders trying to add low end to tube screamers or tinker with the clipping diodes to make the breakup sound more natural. Some were quite inventive designers. Many others were derivative, saving all their creativity it seems for the exterior of the pedals. All of them were extremely pricey. At the same time you started to get the bargain Danelectros for under $50. Some of them were pretty good, but not amazing.

So I'm in the market for pedals again, and I'm finding all these great pedals manufactured in China for $30-$50. I've got a great Electric Mistress clone that cost me $30. It's tiny and runs on 9v too, with no volume drop and less noise, which means it's not just a straight up clone, but that some actual engineering went into it. I've got a great DynaComp clone that cost about that much too, and I just got the Joyo American Sound, which is an absolute steal at $30. It sounds way better than those Boss Fender pedals that came out a while back, which cost 3-4x as much.