The Special Tiger

Discussion in 'Tele Home Depot' started by MM73, Mar 24, 2016.

1. MM73

MM73 Tele-Afflicted

I hadn't planned on starting #2 just yet, but I've come into a free day this coming Monday. Kids get on bus, wife goes to work, and I get to go into the garage for 8 hours of uninterrupted woodwork :)

Neck Blanks 24Mar2016.jpg
    One neck blank is flat sawn, the other is quarter sawn. Hopefully one will survive!

The plans for this one are still coming together, but this is what I've got so far. I'm a guitar newb in more ways than one, but I'm hoping this one will be a good blues-rock player.
    • Themed build - Detroit Tigers (kinda)
    • Fender Cabronita style
      • TV Jones humbuckers (considering Classic / Classic + and PowerTrons)
      • S1 switch (if I can find/make a knob that I like)
      • 3 way toggle
      • Short bridge for hardtail with individual saddles
      • String thru body
      • Reverse routed / no guard
      • Top binding
      • Alder body with opaque finish and special MM73 custom graphics
    • Single piece maple neck
      • Tusq nut, 1-11/16" width
      • fimo markers
      • Schaller locking tuners
      • Vintage heel adjust single action truss rod
      • Warmoth 6150 frets
      • 9.5 or 10" fret radius
      • Thick soft "V" profile
    Bear with me on the themed build. I think it can be tough to pull off a themed build with universal appeal, particularly when a sports club is the muse. I have some ideas that will hopefully keep it from looking like an MLB gift shop catalog was thrown at it.

A big goal of this build is to improve my process, upgrade jigs...do it all better than I did on the one before.

One other goal.
    Gotta have my own body and headstock shape.
    I copied a Fender on build number one, and don't want to copy a tele 100% again.
    I don't have a great feel for proportions and ergonomics, so I'm not going to deviate too much from what I know.