The middle age player....and playing with him or her

Discussion in 'Bad Dog Cafe' started by Flat6Driver, Jun 19, 2015.

1. Flat6Driver

Flat6Driver Friend of Leo's

I guess I'm now "middle age". I have been playing guitar for 20 something years. 95% self taught, took a few lessons and picked up a lot of theory. Took a few more lessons and got some good tips on my technique. It was humbling in many ways and part of the reason I have not returned.

I have probably played with more focus and rigor in the past 3 years than all the prior. So I see where I'm getting better, but not where I'd like to be, not where young prodigies that play all day are. I can sing and play some songs, whereas I see many than can't/won't sing at all. I'm not a tone hunter. (TDPRI staff is reviewing my account right now for deletion...)

I have played with folks that could pay circles around me mostly in blues jams. Where I have not spent the years of discipline. Some days I wonder if there's hope for me since I find my fingers not doing what I wish they would....I might not have the dexterity and as I get older lose it even more. I hope not!

Anyhow, the point of my post is that I'm sure there are many like me this age (or older) on this board. Folks that were great and stayed great, folks that are dusting off the axe after the kids are older, people picking it up for the first time as an older adult. The latter group, I would have to say, at my age would be impossible for me. Had I not started at 19, I would have likely never started...just done other things. Too self conscious to take lessons, etc. I have been to many jams where folks older than me are starting out, and that's very inspiring...hard to play with those folks, but inspiring none the less.

Where do you find yourself as player and how have you made focused improvements as an adult? What has or has not worked for you?

2. mlove3

mlove3 Tele-Afflicted

"Where do you find yourself as player"